F336 Bowles, Jane. Letters to Mary Lou Aswell, 1937-1968. 3 items.
F358 Crane, Nathalia. Letters to Louis Untermeyer, 1925, 1961. 3 items
F360 Zaturenska, Marya. Letters to Louis Untermeyer, 1937-1965. 8 items. ca. 13 pp.
F364 O'Casey, Sean. Letter to Angela Barry, 1946. 6 pp.
F367 Ollier, Edmund. Letters to Alexander Ireland, 1880-1881. 3 items.
F368 Ollier, Edmund. Letters to Leigh Hunt, ca. 1850, n.d. 2 items.
F370 Swinnerton, Frank. Letters to Laurence Brander. 5 items.
F395 Ervine, St. John. Letters to William Armstrong, 1932-1937. 5 items.
F431 Tynan, Katharine. Letters to Aliston Mathews, 1929-1930. 4 items.
F432 Tynan, Katharine. Letters to Egan Mew, 1898. 3 items.
F449 Crofts, Freeman Wills. Letters to James Keddie, 1947-1956. 22 items.
F450 Montgomery, Robert. Letters to Charles Kent, 1849-1855. 11 items.
F467 Clifford, Lucy, Letters to, 1886-1890. 8 items
F473 Swinnerton, Frank. Letters to E.C. Bentley, 1936-1940. 3 items.
F474 Giorno, John. Letters to William Levy, 1965-1966. 10 items.
F478 Di Prima, Diane. The Discontent of the Russian Prince, n.d. 16 pp.
F481 Hazlitt, William Carew. Letters to F. Holland Day, 1867-1894. 7 items.
F488 Torrey, John. Letter to Amos Eaton, 1823. 4 pp.
F491 Gregory, Lady. Letters to Mrs. Henry LaBarre Jayne, 1920-1930. 6 items.
F492 Irving, Henry, Sir. Letters to Mrs. Ellicott and Lord Tennyson, 1875, 1880. 11 items.
F509 Holland, Thomas A. Letters to George Reid, 1845-1847. 18 items.
F517 Bell, Clive. Letters to Gilbert Seldes, 1921-1966. 6 items.
F518 Knight, Charles. Letters to Peter Cunningham and Mr. Bicknell, 1848-1862. 8 items.
F531 Loos, Anita. Letters to Ray, 1962-1979. 22 items.
F580 Cunard, Nancy, and Hugh Ford letters to David Garnett, 1928-1970. 8 items.
F64-65 Capote, Truman. Letters, 1946-1981. ca. 70 items.
F303-306 Porter, Katherine Anne. Letters, 1937-1979. ca. 50 items.
F315 Raine, Kathleen. Letters, 1951-1952. 9 items.
F422 Tate, Allen. Letters, 1944-1968. 22 items.
F544 Thomas, Dylan. Letters, 1953. 35 items.
F74-78 Barnes, Djuna. Letters to Phyllis Jones, 1938, 1970-1981. 37 items.
F134-149 Guggenheim, Peggy. Letters to Emily Coleman, 1934-1968. 140 items.
F209 Holms, John. Letters to Emily Coleman, 1930-1932. 16 items.
F216-340 Jones, Phyllis. Letters to Emily Coleman, 1934-1974 and 1982. 1,708 items.
F462-471 Maritain, Jacques and Raissa. Letters to Emily Coleman, 1942-1969. 156 items.
F481-482 Raine, Kathleen. Letters to Emily Coleman, 1953-1962. 9 items (33 pp.)
F556 Thomas, Dylan. Letters to Emily Coleman, 1937. 4 items. Accompanied by a 1962 letter to Coleman from Caitlin Thomas.
F560-582 White, Antonia. Letters to Emily Coleman, 1934-1969. 475 items (1,507 pp.)
Emily Coleman Diaries
Ms 111 Louis Untermeyer Papers
Papers of the American poet, author, and anthologist including proofs,
poems, etc. and correspondence with over one hundred American and English
authors, editors, and publishers.
F43 Crane, Nathalia. Letters, 1925-1930. (13 pp.)
F49-51 Dell, Floyd. Letters, 1912-1923. (93 pp.)
F53 Eastman, Max. Letters, 1913-1917. (26 pp.)
F137-138 Robinson, Edwin A. Letters, 1916-1925. (26 pp.)
F143-147 Sandburg, Carl. Letters, 1915-1924. (69 pp.)
F149 Sassoon, Siegfried. Letters, 1919-1925. (32 pp.)
F160 Tate, Allen. Letters, 1929-1933. (17 pp.)
Ms 126 W. B. Yeats
Letters to Shri Purohit Swami, 1931-1938, 70 items.
Ms 143 Charles Johnson
Letters to John Gardner, 1974-1976. 29 items. Accompanied by various
manuscripts.
Ms 146 William Carlos Williams Collection
Spanning the dates 1916-1973, consists of sixty-nine letters from Williams to
several individuals, including Fred Miller, Orrick Johns, Emanuel Romano, and George Kirgo, as well as letters from his wife, Fred Miller, and other items.
Ms 163 Paul Bowles
Correspondence with friends, authors, publishers, other literary figures
(William Burroughs, Alfred Chester, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Charles Henri
Ford, etc.), as well as literary manuscripts.
Ms 182 Walter De la Mare
Letters to John Middleton Murry, 1920-1924, 1945. 33 items.
Ms 183 Diane Di Prima
Letters and poetry, 1957-1971. Includes 30 letters to her parents written
between 1962 and 1971.
Ms 184 Toby Olson
Letters to Carl Thayer, 1967-1983. 119 items. Correspondence from American
poet and Temple University professor to his friend and colleague,
including several drafts of poems with Olson's critiques.
Ms 246 C.W. Shirley Brooks
Letters, 1859-1874. 37 items. From the British author Shirley Brooks,
who was a member of the staff of Punch from 1870 until his death in 1874.
Ms 258 Florence Reynolds Collection relating to Jane Heap and
The Little Review
Includes an extensive group of letters from Jane Heap to Florence Reynolds,
letters from Margaret Anderson, manuscripts, personal papers, and archival
materials.
Ms 266 George Moore
Letters from the Irish author to the American novelist Marquise Clara
Lanza, 1888-1889. 14 items, (ca. 120 pp.)
Ms 270 Ralph Delauney collection related to Tennessee Williams's Rose Tatoo
The playscript and revisions, correspondence, bills
and receipts, budgets, clippings, notes, itineraries, theater programs, and sketches of the set for The Rose Tatoo, 1947-1953. The material was
gathered by Ralph Delauney in his role as stage manager for both the 1950 world premiere at Erlanger Theatre in Chicago, and the 1951 New York run at the Martin Beck Theatre.
Ms 285 Alfred Chester
Letters to Curtis Harnack, 1951-1958. 3 folders.
Ms 292 Charles Henri Ford
Letters to Ted Joans, 1964-1987. 46 items.
Ms 302 Sir Gerald Barry
Correspondence, 1925-1968, with friends and professional contacts of
the British journalist and editor of the Saturday Review, Week-end
Review, News Chronicle, etc.
Ms 305 Elizabeth Jennings
Letters to Barbara Cooper, 1961-1974. 34 items. Written to her close
friend, Jennings's letters frankly discuss her anxiety, depression, and
hospitalization following a nervous breakdown in 1963.
Ms 306 Elizabeth Jennings
Letters to Ruga Stanley, 1984-1990, 35 items. Letters of support and
encouragement to her friend Stanley who was undergoing hospitalization,
as well as Jennings's poem "To a Friend Recovered from Sickness," which
was dedicated to Stanley.
MS 307 Elizabeth Jennings
Poetry manuscripts
Ms 309 Thomas MacGreevy
Letters to Eleanor and Frederick Reid, 1954-1966. 29 items. From Irish
author, poet, critic, and Director of the National Gallery, related to
the artist Jack B. Yeats but also regarding his personal life.
Ms 310 Jack B. Yeats
Eleanor and Frederick B. Reid Papers related to Jack B. Yeats, 1944-1957.
38 items. Correspondence and cards from Yeats, as well as letters from
Mr. Reid to his wife written during a trip to Ireland to meet Yeats and
view his paintings.
Ms 317 Wilbert Snow
Letters to Homer E. Woodridge, 1925-1951. 32 items. Letters from Maine
poet and educator to his friend and colleague. Several of the letters include
descriptions of Snow's visits with Robert Frost.
Ms 323 Paul Bowles
Letters to William Saroyan, 1937-1942. 12 items. Letters exploring
collaboration with Saroyan on "Opera, Opera," a project that never materialized.
Ms 324 Paul Bowles
Letters to John Martin, 1975-1990. 89 items. Letters revealing personal
friendship and editorial relationship of Bowles to publisher John Martin
(Black Sparrow Press). Various personal news as well as discussion of publishing
issues related to Bowles's work, his wife Jane Bowles's work, and those
of Mohammed Mrabet. Includes eight Mrabet letters translated by Bowles.
Ms 337 Irving Rosenthal
Letters to Ira Cohen, 1964. 35 items.
Ms 344 James Leo Herlihy Papers
Letters to M.C. Richards, ca. 133 items.
Letters which touch on all aspects of his life, with mention of Tennessee
Williams, Midnight Cowboy, Anais Nin, and Black Mountain, where
he had been a student of Richards's.
Ms 348 Gilbert Sorrentino
Letters to David Markson, 1988-1997. 209 items. Biting glimpse of the
contemporary literary scene as provided by Sorrentino in the letters to
his fellow American author, David Markson.
Ms 351 Cid Corman
Letters to David Giannini, 1990-1994. ca. 105 items
Ms 362 Berta Ruck
Travel Journals, 1928 - 1937. 6 vols. Scrapbooks/journals/workbooks
kept by popular Welsh writer.
Ms 369 Robert A. Wilson Collection related to James Purdy
1956-1998. Letters, cards, photographs, typescripts, galleys, reviews,
newspaper clippings, publishers' announcements, publicity and ephemera
from or related to the American author James Purdy.
Ms 370 James Purdy
Manuscripts, 1961-1978. The typescript of I am Elijah Thrush
is perhaps most interesting from a scholarly standpoint because it contains
extensive corrections and additions by the author.
Ms 371 Anne Thackeray Ritchie
Biographical Introductions to The Complete Works of William Makepeace
Thackeray, 1897-1899. 29 items. Proofs, galleys, and letters regarding
Anne Ritchie's introduction to her father's works.
Ms 396 Archive of The Park 1
1968-1969, 31 items. Letters and manuscripts submitted to British journal
of contemporary poetry. The essay by Gilbert Sorrentino on Marianne Moore
bears extensive revisions.
Ms 398 Ishmael Reed
Extensive papers of this African-American novelist, poet, publisher, and educator, 1980-1995.
Box 11 F316 Black American Literary Forum, c. 1974
Three corrected typescript drafts of the poem, which is a review of Clarence Major's first novel, All-Night Visitors, with tear sheet of the published version.
Ms 441 Louis Untermeyer
Correspondence with John D. Weaver, 1938-1995 (bulk dates 1939-1977), documents an enduring literary friendship.
Ms 495 David T. Bazelon Papers
ca. 1941 - 1985. ca. 22 linear ft. Papers of author, critic, editor
and teacher David T. Bazelon who made his literary start in 1940s New York
with contributions to Commentary and Partisan Review. Includes
correspondence with James T. Farrell (1942-1944) and Calder Willingham
(1941-1958).
Ms 170 James Maxwell
Papers, 1860-1949 (bulk 1867-1900). Newark, Delaware, resident who
worked as a civil engineer on railroads in the western United States and
South America. Professional correspondence, surveys, and photographs are
supplemented with family correspondence and personal papers.
F14-17 Maxwell, James. Letters to his wife Hattie, 1886-1990. 32 items.
Ms 218 Eward A. Fulton
Letters, 1860-1877 (bulk 1860-1863). To his mother in Wilmington, Delaware,
written while he served with the Union Army, 72nd Regiment, Pennsylvania
Volunteers. ca. 40 items.
Ms 255 Albertson Family
Papers, 1774-1880 (bulk 1800-1862). Business and personal papers of
this Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, family. Several interesting groups
of correspondence and papers related to their membership in the Friends
Meeting House in Plymouth.
F47 Testimony of the Death of Hannah Hill, Jr., 1774
F50 Untitled Morality Play, n.d. Incomplete manuscript play of a dialogue between a blind man and Death, pp. 9-28.
Ms 287 Kay Boyle
Papers relating to Research on Irish Women, 1920-1981 (bulk 1976-1981).
2.3 linear ft. Collected by Boyle toward a book on Irish women that never
materialized. Several drafts of chapters, interviews with Irish women,
and correspondence. The collection also includes miscellaneous Boyle
papers.
F20 TLS, Bernadette Quinn to Kay Boyle, 1976 Aug 13, 2 pp
Ms 304 Rockwell Kent
Letters to David Wesley, 1951-1969. 271 items. Kent records his reactions
to the lingering political winter of cold-war era America and provides
details of his warm relationship with the USSR.
Ms 314 Rush Family
Papers, 1798-1898 (bulk 1820-1860). .75 linear ft, related to prominent Philadelphia family descended from the Dr. Benjamin
Rush of Revolutionary War fame. Includes unpublished manuscripts about
the Rush family. "Dr. Benjamin Rush in the opinion of his revolutionary
contemporaries, a reply to the interested prejudice of a recent writer"
is Alexander Biddle's response to an historical controversy which came
to be known as "the war of the grandfathers."
Ms 327 Biddle Family
Papers, 1766-1943 (bulk 1870-1927). 8 linear ft. In addition to correspondence
from many members of this prominent Philadelphia family, includes a series
related to Alexander Biddle with many drafts of his Civil War narrative
and biography.
MS 372 George Morgan
Papers, 1914 - 1934. 60 items. Essays, poems, and newspaper clippings related
to Morgan as well as the University of Delaware. A prominent journalist with the
Philadelphia Record, George Morgan, LL.D., (1854-1936), was an enthusiastic
supporter of the Univeristy (Class of 1875).
Ms 378 The Reverend John Alonzo Clark
Sermons, 1826-1842, 33 items. Evangelical sermons preached around the time of
America's Second Great Awakening. The sermons were written by Clark, a
member of the American Tract Society, and were preached at various locations,
including churches in New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Boston, and
Philadelphia.
Ms 380 The Reverend Nathan Stone
Sermons, 1705-1774, 31 items. Most of the sermons were preached at the Meeting
House in Southborough, Massachusetts.
Ms 432 George Burton Pearson, Jr.
Personal and family papers, 1840 - 1999 (bulk dates 1880 - 1950), of Delaware judge who was reared in Middletown. Family photographs and correspondence between Pearson, his parents, and his aunt, Oka Cochran Warren, form the bulk of
the collection.
007 Lucien Cyrus Boynton.
Journal, or a running record of some thoughts,
feelings, and events of my life, 1835-1853. 1 vol. Introspective journal
of a Northeasterner, from his seminary training at Andover to his unsuccessful
teaching career to his pursuit of the profession of law.
009 Richard Champney.
Journal of Travels commencing from the
year 1798 through various parts of England, Ireland, Scotland, France,
Spain..., 1798-1815. 4 vols.
030 George Arthur Gray.
To China and Back...,1863-1866. 4 vols.
Journal of a voyage to China and return to the United States at the close
of the Civil War.
032 John C. Grover.
Diary, 1861-1865. 1 vol. Diary kept by member
of the 17th regiment of the Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry in Maryland
and North Carolina.
057 Jessie Southard Parker.
Journals, 1899-1916. 9 vols. Meticulously
kept journals of Belmont, Massachusetts, resident with mementos of family
life, social activities, cultural affairs, etc.
104 Emily Shore.
Diaries, 1836-1837, 1838-1839. 2 vols. Seventh and
twelfth (final) volumes of a multi-volume diary kept by a young nineteenth
century English woman.
116 Athaliah Voorhies.
Journal, 1838-1844. 1 vol. Early nineteenth
century American journal of religious meditation and daily hardship.
Back to the UD Special Collections Home Page
This page is maintained by Special Collections
Last modified: 09/12/06