Special Collections Department
American History
Selected Manuscripts and Archival Resources
for reference assistance
email Special Collections
or contact:
Special Collections, University of Delaware Library
Newark, Delaware 19717-5267
(302) 831-2229
These selected collections represent the wide range of geographical, chronological,
and topical sources available for research in American history in Special Collections.
Ms 255 Albertson Family Papers
1774-1880, bulk dates 1800-1862.
Personal and business papers of this Plymouth Meeting,
Pennsylvania, family. The Albertson family established the
Plymouth Railroad in 1836 to deliver lime from their mining
business. The collection also documents the family's involvement
with the Plymouth Friends Meeting House.
Ms 175 Booth, James C., Papers
ca. 1787-1888.
Consists largely of the papers of James C. Booth (1810-1888), an
American geologist and chemist. Personal and professional
correspondence, business documents, notebooks and journals,
family papers, an extensive group of material relating to Booth's
mother's family, and a collection of his father's (George Booth)
literary manuscripts.
Ms 290 Booth, Thomas R., Diaries
1855-1860.
Six diaries kept by Booth, working as an engineer for the Pacific
Railroad Co. (and other lines) in Missouri. The diaries note
engineering challenges, personalities involved in management and
construction of the railroad, details of daily life, and thoughts
predicting the dark future of the Civil War.
Ms 105 Coleman, Emily Holmes, Papers
1899-1974.
Papers of the American expatriate writer associated during the
1920s with the group of writers in Paris who contributed to
transition magazine. In the latter decades of her life she was
actively involved with Dorothy Day's Catholic Worker. In
addition to Coleman's manuscripts, personal notebooks and
diaries, family correspondence and memorabilia, the papers
include extensive literary and personal correspondence from such
figures as Djuna Barnes, Antonia White, Peggy Guggenheim,
Kathleen Raine, Dylan Thomas, and others.
Ms 113 Dunbar-Nelson, Alice
1875-1935.
Papers of the African-American author and social activist, who
resided in Wilmington, Delaware. The papers include substantial
personal, professional, and literary correspondence; manuscripts
of Dunbar-Nelson's poetry, fiction, essays, and journalism;
diaries and scrapbooks; and material relating to her work for the
NAACP, the American Friends Service Committee, and other social
and political organizations. Of particular note are the
extensive correspondence between Dunbar-Nelson and her first
husband, the poet Paul Laurence Dunbar, and the detailed diaries
Dunbar-Nelson maintained throughout most of her adult life.
Ms 119 Ernest, John R., Papers
1941-1944.
Letters, bulletins, documents, memorabilia relating to the U.S.
Army Aircraft Warning Service and the Newark (Delaware) Council
for Civilian Defense during World War II. Collected by John R.
Ernest, resident of Newark and participant in these programs.
Ms 271 Evans, George Gillespie, Papers
1815-1904.
Trustee of Newark College and storekeeper. Collection includes
correspondence, diaries, ledgers and accounts, and records of
loans, real estate, and other investments.
Ms 149 Kasebier, Gertrude, Papers
1897-1940, bulk dates after
1934.
Ms 198 Kasebier Collection
1865-1951, bulk dates 1890-1934.
Material relating to the American photographer Gertrude Kasebier
consists of two groups of papers. The first is a small group of
manuscript reminiscences and scrapbooks documenting the life and
career of this important American photographer. The second
contains a collection of periodicals featuring work by Kasebier
and a collection of family photographs.
Ms 117 Latimer Family Papers
1690-1927, bulk dates 1770-1870.
Collection detailing the personal and business affairs of this
family in the area of Chester County and Philadelphia,
Pennsylvania, and Delaware. Particularly interesting for
historical and economic documentation in the context of
revolutionary America and early 19th century trade. Features
papers of Dr. Henry Latimer, appointed in 1781 as Surgeon General
of the Northern Division of the Continental Army, later elected
member of the Delaware State Legislature and member of the U.S.
House of Representatives; and John R. Latimer, who established an
overseas trading business with China, 1815-1834.
Ms 130 Lewis Family Papers
1700-1931, bulk dates 1780-1860.
Personal and legal papers of Newark, Delaware, family. Of
particular note are papers of Albert Gallatin Lewis (1798-1883)
concerning land purchases in and around Newark.
Ms 161 Lukens Family Papers
1750--1904, bulk dates 1759-1800.
Personal papers and business records of members of the Lukens
family of Philadelphia. Bulk of the collection concerns John
Lukens, Surveyor-General of Pennsylvania and Delaware, 1761-1776
and 1781-1789. Includes much information on surveying, business
and land transactions, and estate settlements.
Ms 258 Reynolds, Florence, Collection related to Jane Heap and
the Little Review
1902-1974.
Collection of Florence Reynolds, lifelong friend and benefactor
of Jane Heap, who was co-editor with Margaret Anderson of the
Little Review. The collection includes correspondence from Heap,
Anderson, and others to Reynolds; as well as photographs,
manuscripts, artwork, memorabilia, and a complete run of the
Little Review.
Ms 288 Viele, Teresa, Scrapbooks
1870-1871.
Two volumes of clippings, correspondence, legal documents,
telegrams, and social cards and announcements documenting the
divorce and custody suit of prominent New York society member,
Teresa Viele.
Ms 145 Walsh, Grace Lloyd, Papers
1910-1992, bulk dates 1913-
1935, 1957-1970.
Personal and business papers of Wilmington businesswoman Grace
Lloyd Walsh. Includes scrapbooks, photographs, and memorabilia
from Wilmington High School, 1913; artwork from Walsh's freelance
advertising business; material documenting her work as a
chauffeur with the American Women's Voluntary Services during
World War II; and advertising and records from Walsh's Wilmington
shop which specialized in fine gifts.
Ms 127 Williams, Senator John J., Papers
1946-1971.
Congressional papers of John J. Williams who represented Delaware
in the U.S. Senate from 1946-1970. A small businessman from
Sussex County, Williams served on both the Finance and Foreign
Relations committees and was widely respected for advocating
financial responsibility and integrity in government. He was
known as "the Conscience of the Senate" and is credited with
exposing two significant scandals: corruption in the Bureau of
Internal Revenue, 1949-1950; and the unethical practices of Bobby
Baker, secretary to the Senate majority and former protege of
Lyndon Johnson, 1964. The office files include constituent
correspondence on a number of issues from the 1950s-1960s such as
desegregation, McCarthyism, civil rights, and Vietnam.
Diaries
Numerous diaries and journals from different individuals. A
"finding aid" with descriptions for each diary or journal is
available in Special Collections. The descriptions include name,
dates, place, physical description (number of volumes), and scope
notes. A few samples are listed below.
Boss, Charles, Journal
1869-1877.
Location Trans-Mississippi West. "Daily report of Charles Boss.
Life and adventures on the Frontiers. Composed in Field, Jail,
and Escapes, Prairie, Mountains, Rivers, Indians Pioneers,
Robbers, and Murder stories, Theft and Desertion, District of
Territories. Expeditions from 1869-1876." Reminiscences of an
Indian fighter in the U.S. Army including campaign against the
Nez-Perce in 1877.
Boynton, Lucien Cyrus, Journal
1835-1853.
Location East Coast, including Wilmington and Newark.
Introspective journal of Eastern lawyer with particular comments
on religion, nature, and higher learning.
Clark, John, Journal
1852.
Location New York to San Francisco. Journal kept on voyage from
New York to San Francisco with details of daily matters such as
food, weather, and fellow passengers and crew.
Cleaver, Joseph, Diary
1853-1854.
Location Newark. Diary of Delaware College student recording
student life, curriculum, and involvement in the Atheanean
Society.
The Herald, Ship Log
1841-1845.
Locations Indian Ocean, Pacific Ocean. Ship's log for the Herald
of Stonington, Connecticut, on two separate whaling voyages:
1841-1843 to the Indian Ocean and 1845 to the Pacific Ocean.
Hoskins, Mary A.H., Diary
1857.
Location Philadelphia. Diary entries mostly concern family
matters, social activities, and domestic life.
Jenks, Craigie P., Diary
1851.
Location Boston. Diary kept by farmhand reflecting work,
religious convictions, social activities, and family matters.
Parker, Jessica S., Journals
1899-1916.
Location Belmont, Massachusetts. Nine volumes including journal
entries and correspondence, photographs, calling cards, printed
announcements and programs, and other memorabilia. Journals kept
by Jessica Parker documenting her personal and family affairs,
social activities, and literary and theatrical interests.
Account books
Account books, ledgers, and receipt books from various
individuals and firms. A "finding aid" with descriptions is
located in Special Collections. Selected examples are listed
below.
Ashburnham, Elizabeth
Receipt book from Wilmington, Delaware, 1824-1866. Receipts for
taxes paid and from renters for board.
Farmer's Bank of the State of Delaware
Ledger, 1813-1865.
Russell, William H.
Daybook and account book for store in Newark, Delaware, 1825-
1838.
Footer
Back to Special
Collections Home Page
Return to list of Subject Guides and Selected Bibliographies
This page is maintained by
Special Collections
Last modified: 10/28/03