Selected Primary Resources
ENGL 480-012 | Prof. Susan Goodman | English Department
Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass, an American slave / written by himself. Boston : Pub. at the Anti-slavery office, 1845.
LOCATION: Special Collections E449 .D746
Violets and other tales / Alice Ruth Moore. [Boston] : Monthly Review, c1895.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3507 .U6228 V56x 1895
The descendant; a novel ... New York, Harper & brothers, 1897.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3513.L34 D47
A showing of our new Harris Roman series : a beautiful book letter named in honor of Joel Chandler Harris, with some excerpts and illustrations from his "Uncle Remus and Brer Rabbit" stories. [Philadelphia : The Company, 1909?]
LOCATION: Special Collections Z250 .K49 1909
The tar-baby: and other rhymes of Uncle Remus; with illustrations in color by A. B. Frost and E. W. Kemble. New York, D. Appleton, 1904.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS1807 .T3 1904
Montage of a dream deferred. [New York], Holt, 1951.
LOCATION: Special Collections In Process 
The weary blues ; with an introduction by Carl Van Vechten. New York : Knopf, 1926.
Inscribed by Carl Van Vechten.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS 3515 .U274 W4 1926
Mules and men; with an introduction by Franz Boas ; 10 illustrations by Miguel Covarrubias. Philadelphia : J.B. Lippincott Co., 1935.
LOCATION: Special Collections GR103 .H8 In Process 
Their eyes were watching God; a novel. London, J.M. Dent & Sons Ltd., [1938, c1937].
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3515.U789 T5 In Process 
Delta wedding; a novel . New York, Harcourt, Brace 
"Advance copy from Harcourt, Brace and co.," tipped in.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3545.E6 D45
One time, one place: Mississippi in the depression; a snapshot album. New York, Random House 
In slipcase. No. 275 of 300 copies, numbered and signed by the author.
LOCATION: Special Collections TR653 .W44 1971
White fruitcake. [New York] : Albondocani Press, 1980 ([New York] : Nadja)
"This first printing ... published in December 1980 is limited to 450 copies to be used as a holiday greeting by the author and publisher. None are for sale."--Colophon.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3545 .E55 W58x 1980
Manuscripts and Archival Collections
In addition to finding aids, Special Collections maintains a database of literary and historical correspondence and manuscripts. For assistance of any kind, please contact a Librarian in Special Collections.
MSS 103 John Malcolm Brinnin papers, 1930-1981.
Poet and biographer Brinnin (1916-1999), who was also a critic, anthologist, and teacher, taught at Vassar, Boston University, the University of Connecticut, and Harvard. He was Director of the Young Men's and Young Women's Hebrew Association Poetry Center ("the 92nd Street Y") in New York City during one of the Center's most successful periods (1949-1956). He is renowned for bringing Dylan Thomas to America, but because of his role at the Poetry Center, he corresponded with most of the major poets and literary figures of his time. Students in this class may be especially interested in the twenty years of correspondence with Katherine Anne Porter.
Box 14 / folders 303 - 306
MSS 111 Louis Untermeyer papers, 1902 - 1972 (bulk dates 1912 - 1935)
From 1923 until his death in 1977, Untermeyer worked solely at his literary interests as a poet, writer, editor, anthologist, translator, and lecturer. Untermeyer was most noted for the anthologies of poetry which he compiled and edited. Some of these works, first published in the 1920s, continued to be used as high school and college textbooks well into the 1970s. During his lifetime, Untermeyer developed numerous literary friendships with individuals who sought his help in getting published, contributed to his anthologies, or shared his enthusiasm for poetry. A good group of letters from Allen Tate, one of the founding editors of The Fugitive, will be of interest to this class.
Box 8 / folder 160
MSS 112 Tennessee Williams collection, 1939-1994.
Born Thomas Lanier Williams on March 26, 1911, in Columbus, Mississippi, Tennessee Williams began his literary career at the age of 16 with the publication of his essay, "Can a Good Wife Be a Good Sport?" in Smart Set (May 1927). Nearly half of this extensive collection of correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, printed material, and ephemera comprises original manuscripts of plays, poems, essays, and other work written by Williams. Material related to Cat on a Hot Tin Roof as well as A Streetcar Named Desire is available.
MSS 113 Alice Dunbar Nelson papers, 1895-1942.
Alice Ruth Moore was born in New Orleans, Louisiana. Her first book, Violets and Other Tales, a collection of stories, was published in 1895. In 1897, Moore moved to Brooklyn, to teach. Struck by her work, the poet Paul Laurence Dunbar corresponded with Moore, and in 1898, they married. They legally separated in 1902; Dunbar died in 1906. Following her separation from Dunbar, Alice Dunbar moved to Wilmington, Delaware. This collection comprises her literary, professional, and personal papers, including a comprehensive collection of manuscripts of her writing, including novels, stories, poetry, drama, and essays.
MSS 191 Donald Justice papers, 1936 - 1998 (bulk dates 1952-1996)
Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Donald Justice was born August 12, 1925, in Miami, Florida. He was educated at the University of Miami (B.A., 1945), the University of North Carolina (M.A., 1947), Stanford University (1947-1948), and the State University of Iowa (Ph.D., 1954). While at Iowa, Justice studied with Robert Lowell, Karl Sharpiro, Paul Engle, and John Berryman in the Iowa Poetry Workshop. Of interest to students in this class will be Justice's master's thesis, "The Fugitive-Agrarian "Myth," as well as Justice's adaptation of Eudora Welty's short story, "The Golden Apples." Titled "The Whole World Knows," the folder for this play includes the original autograph script, typescripts and photocopied typescripts, notes, stage directions, and correspondence. One letter from Eudora Welty regarding the play is also present.
Box 6 / folders 251, 259
MSS 398 Ishmael Reed papers, 1964-1995.
African-American novelist, poet, and publisher Ishmael Reed was born in Chattanooga, Tennessee, in 1938. This is a comprehensive collection of the manuscripts, correspondence, business and publishing records, printed and multimedia productions, and other materials which document his multi-faceted career. Using the materials in this collection, it will be possible for scholars to discover Reed's prolific and productive life of involvement in arts, letters, and politics. Available in the extensive Interview series is Reed's interview with mixed media artist Bettye Saar, whose work is represented in the Paul Jones collection. Among media projects is a 1976 interview of Toni Morrison conducted by poet, playwright, and essayist, Ntozake Shange.
Box 23 / folders 78-86; Box 59Top of page