University of Delaware Library
Bookmark and Share

Science Fiction

for reference assistance email Special Collections

or contact:
Special Collections, University of Delaware Library
Newark, Delaware 19717-5267
(302) 831-2229





Introduction

Special Collections holds an extensive collection of twentieth century science fiction. This includes thousands of books in hardcover and paperback from the 1920s through the 1950s as well as several thousand magazine issues from hundreds of different titles featuring science fiction and pulp literature. In addition, the library holds comprehensive collections of the works of Edgar Rice Burroughs and of the African American science fiction writer Samuel Delany. The library’s holdings also include many works of science fiction and its progenitors from the nineteenth century and earlier.

The hardcover books in the collection can be found in DELCAT. The periodicals and the paperbacks are not in DELCAT but there are finding aids available online and in the department that list individual titles.

The Roland Bounds Science Fiction Collection added 30,000 books and magazines to the Library's collections. You can identify over 800 titles in the collection by using “Roland Bounds Science Fiction Collection” as a DELCAT search term; they are also cataloged in their entirety in the manuscript collection finding aids, where they are indexed by author, title and publisher.

Top of page


Manuscripts

MSS 494 Roland E. Bounds science fiction collection: papers and ephemera, 1931–2002 (bulk dates 1970–2000), 2 linear ft. and oversize materials.

The Roland E. Bounds Collection: Papers and Ephemera includes books, magazines, convention programs, posters, photographs, artwork, and objects related to Bounds’s collecting activities. The bulk of this collection relates to his interest in science fiction and its subgenres, fantasy and horror.

MSS 553 Roland E. Bounds science fiction paperback book collection, 1890–2002, 117 linear ft. (ca. 7,000 vols.).

The Roland E. Bounds Paperback Science Fiction Book Collection consists of nearly seven thousand science fiction paperbacks published between 1890 and 2002 assembled by the Delaware collector Roland Bounds.

MSS 504 Roland E. Bounds science fiction periodical collection, 1926–2001, 63 record center cartons.

The Roland Bounds Science Fiction Periodicals Collection contains several hundred issues of science fiction and fantasy magazines dating from the 1920s to the 1990s, though Bounds made a special effort to collect vintage (pre-1953) issues.

MSS 559 W. Merritt Burke III pulp paperback book collection, 1913–1968, 5 linear ft. (ca. 300 vols.).

The W. Merritt Burke III pulp paperback book collection comprises pulp novels primarily published in the United States in the 1930s and 1940s.

MSS 618 Samuel R. Delany collection, 1967–1999, 2 linear ft. (2 boxes).

The Samuel R. Delany collection includes Delany's letters to publisher Bill Bamberger (Bamberger Books), manuscript drafts of novels in progress, comic books, science fiction anthologies, and journals of fantasy and science fiction to which Delany contributed or served as editor.

Top of page


Selected Titles

Aldiss, Brian Wilson, 1925-

Space, time, and Nathaniel (presciences). (London: Faber and Faber, 1957).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PR6051 .L3 S63x 1957


Asimov, Isaac, 1920-

Pebble in the sky. [New York: Doubleday, 1990].

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3551.S5 P4 1990


Bester, Alfred.

Tiger! Tiger!. (London: Sidgwick and Jackson, [1956])

LOCATION: Special Collections PS3552 .E796 T54 1956


Blish, James.

The duplicated man, by James Blish and Robert Lowndes. (New York: T. Bouregy, 1959).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3503.L64 D86 1959b


Bradbury, Ray, 1920-

Fahrenheit 451. Illustrated by Joe Mugnaini. (New York: Ballantine Books [1953])

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3503.R167 F3 1953


Martian chronicles (Garden City, N. Y., Doubleday, 1950).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3503.R167 M37 1950


"Something wicked this way comes" : second draft screenplay (Beverly Hills, Calif.: The Bryna Co., 1976.)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS folio PS3503.R167 S642 1976


Burroughs, Edgar Rice, 1875-1950.

A Princess of Mars. Illustrated by Frank Schooner. (New York: Grosset & Dunlap, 1917).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3503 .U687 P74 1917


At the earth's core. Illustrated by J. Allen St. John. (Chicago: A. C. McClurg & Co., 1922).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3503.U687 A86 1922b


Carson of Venus. (London: Mark Goulden; distributed by W.H. Allen, [1950]).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3503.U687 C36 1950


The gods of Mars, and The warlord of Mars. Illus. by Frank Frazetta. (Garden City, N.Y.: Nelson Doubleday [c1971])

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3503.U687 G63 1971


The illustrated Tarzan books, no. 1. Picturized from the novel "Tarzan of the apes." 300 pictures by Harold Foster. (New York: Grosset & Dunlap, [1929])

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3503.U687 I54 1929


Campbell, John Wood, 1910-1971. (also wrote under the pseudonym of Don A. Stuart)

Who Goes There? Seven Tales of Science Fiction. (Chicago: Shasta Publishers, 1948).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3553 .A47 W54 1948


Clarke, Arthur Charles, 1917-

Prelude to space. ([New York]: Gnome Press, [c1954])

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PR6005.L36 P74 1954


Sands of Mars. (New York: Gnome Press [1952])

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PR6005.L36 S35 1952


Del Rey, Lester, 1915-

"...and some were human." With drawings by Sol Levin. (Philadelphia: Prime Press, 1948).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3554.E445 A78 1948


Marooned on Mars. Jacket illus. by Paul Orban; endpaper design by Alex Schomburg. (Philadelphia: Winston, [1952]).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3554 .E445 M36 1952


Dick, Philip K.

Martian Time-Slip. (NY: Ballantine Books, 1964).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS. Roland Bounds Science Fiction paperback collection.


Herbert, Frank.

Dune. (NY: Ace Books, 1965).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS. Roland Bounds Science fiction paperback collection.


Heinlein, Robert A. (Robert Anson), 1907-

Red planet, a colonial boy on Mars. Illustrated by Clifford Geary. (New York: Scribner's Sons, [1949])

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3515.E288 R43 1949


Stranger in a Strange Land. (New York: G. P. Putnam’s Sons, 1961).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3515 .E288 S84 1961


Hubbard, L. Ron (La Fayette Ron), 1911-

From death to the stars. (Los Angeles : Fantasy Pub. Co., [1952?]).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3558.U23 F75 1952


Le Guin, Ursula K., 1929-

The dispossessed: an ambiguous Utopia. (New York : Harper & Row, 1974).

LOCATION: MORRIS LIBRARY PS3562.E42 D56


A Wizard of Earthsea. (NY: Ace Books, 1968).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS. Roland Bounds Science fiction paperback collection.


Lovecraft, H. P. (Howard Phillips), 1890-1937.

Best Supernatural Stories of H. P. Lovecraft. Edited by August Derleth. (Cleveland: World Publishing Company, [1945]).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3523 .O833 B47 1945


More, Thomas, Sir, Saint, 1478-1535.

Thomae Mori Angli, Viri Ervditionis Pariter Ac Virtionis Pariter Ac Virtvtis Nomine Clarissimi, Angliaeqve Olim Cancellarii, Omnia, quae hucusque ad manus nostras peruenerunt, Latina Opera: Quorum Aliqua Nunc Primum in Lucem Prodeunt, Reliqua Vero Multo Quam Antea Castigatoria. (Lovanii : Ioannem Bogardum sub Biblijs Aueis, 1566).

Includes “Utopia,” and preliminaries by Budaeus and Paladanus on “Utopia.”

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PR2321 .A1 1566


Norton, Andre.

Star Hunter & Voodoo Planet. (NY: Ace Books, 1961).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS. Roland Bounds Science fiction paperback collection.


Were Wrath. (New Castle, VA: Cheap Street, 1984).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3527 O632 W4 1984


Pohl, Frederik.

The Space Merchants, by Frederik Pohl and C. M. Kornbluth. (NY: Ballantine Books, 1953). (two copies)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Roland Bounds Science fiction paperback collection.


Undersea fleet, by Frederik Pohl and Jack Williamson. (New York: Gnome Press [1956]).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3566.O36 U54 1956


Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft, 1797-1851.

The Last Man, by the Author of Frankenstein [Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley]. (London: Henry Colburn, 1826).

With an East Grinsted Book Club circulation form laid in [n.d.; printed on paper watermarked 1824]

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PR5397 .L37 1826


Simak, Clifford D., 1904-

Time and again. (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1951).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3537 .I54 T535 1951


Sturgeon, Theodore.

The dreaming jewels. (New York: Greenberg [1950]).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3569 .T875 D74 1950


Van Vogt, A. E. (Alfred Elton), 1912-

The book of Ptath. Illustrated by A.J. Donnell. (Reading: Fantasy Press, 1947).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3543.A6546 B65 1947


Slan. (Sauk City, Wis.: Arkham House, 1946).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3543.A6546 S55 1946


The Voyage of the Space Beagle. (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1950).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3543 .A6546 V69 1950


Vonnegut, Kurt.

Between time and Timbuktu : or, Prometheus-5, a space fantasy based on materials. Designed by Joel Schick ; with photographs by Jill Krementz and from the NET Playhouse production. (Frogmore, St. Albans, Herts : Panther, 1975).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3572.O5 B4 1975


Sirenene på Titan. Etterord av Bing & Bringsvaerd ; oversatt av Olav Angell og Lill Granrud. (Oslo : Gyldendal Norsk Forlag, 1974).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3572.O5 S54155 1974


Weinbaum, Stanley Grauman, 1902-1935.

A Martian odyssey and others. (Reading, Penn: Fantasy Press, 1949).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3545.E4636 M37 1949


Wells, H. G. (Herbert George), 1866-1946.

The island of Doctor Moreau. (London: William Heinemann, 1896).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PR5774 .I8 1896


The Time Machine: An Invention. (London: William Heinemann, 1895).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PR5774 .T5 1895


The War of the Worlds. (London: William Heinemann, 1898).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PR5774 .W3


Tales of space and time. (London and New York: Harper & Bros., 1900).

LOCATION: Special Collections PR5774 .T35


Wilkins, John, 1614-1672.

The Mathematical and Philosophical Works of the Right Reverend John Wilkins. (London: Printed for J. Nicholson [etc.], 1708).

Includes “The Discovery of a New World, or, a Discourse tending to prove, that ‘tis probable there may be another Habitable World in the Moon. With a Discourse of the Possibility of a Passage thither.” Wilkins also speculates that there may be extraterrestrial life on the moon.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Q155 .W66 1708


Top of page


Periodicals

Amazing Stories. 1.1 (April 1926)

The first known American science fiction magazine.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 1.9 (December 1926)

(Lacks covers)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 3.5 (August 1928)

Includes the original short story, “Armageddon – 2149 A.D.”, upon which Buck Rogers was based.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 3.7 (October 1928)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 5.9 (December 1930)

Lacks covers.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 51.4 (August 1978)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 70.1 (Summer 1998).

(The inaugural issue of a revival of the original Amazing Stories, which had ceased publication several years earlier.)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


Analog: Science Fiction Science Fact. LXXXIX.4 (June 1972)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


Astounding Science Fiction. 28.1 (September 1941)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 53.6 (August 1954)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 58.6 (February 1957)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 61.3 (May 1958)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 61.4 (June 1958)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


Captain Future. NY: Better Publications. 1940.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


Fantastic Adventures 15.1 (January 1953)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 16.3 (March 1953)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


Future Fiction. 1.1 (November 1939)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


Galaxy Magazine. 22.3 (February 1964)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 24.2 (December 1965)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


If: Worlds of Science Fiction. 3.2 (April 1954)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction. 16.3 (March 1959)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 17.4 (October 1959)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 25.2 (August 1963)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 62.4 (April 1982).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


Two Complete Science-Adventure Books. NY: Fantasy Pub. Co, 1950.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, PS648 S3 T953


Weird Tales. 12.2 (August 1928)

Includes “The Vengeance of Nitocris,” Tennessee Williams’ first publication.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3545 .I5365 V47 1928


---. 39.12 (September 1947)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 41.5 (July 1949)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


---. 42.1 (November 1949).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, MSS 504, ROLAND E. BOUNDS SCIENCE FICTION PERIODICAL COLLECTION


Top of page


Private Presses

Cheap Street

Benford, Gregory. Centigrade 233. (Newcastle, Va.: Cheap Street, 1990).

LOCATION: PS3552 .E542 C4 1990


Benford, Gregory. Matter’s End. Illustrated by Judy J. King. (Newcastle, Va.: Cheap Street, 1991).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3552 .E542 M38 1991


Benford, Gregory. Of Space/Time and the River. Illustrated by Judy King-Rieniets. (Newcastle, Va.: 1985).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3552 .E542 O34 1985


Benford, Gregory. Time’s Rub. (Newcastle, Va.: Cheap Street, 1984).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3552 .E542 T54 1984


[Cheap Street Prospectuses]. (New Castle, Va.:Cheap Street, [1992?]).

A portfolio of advertisements for the publisher’s works.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEL Z232 .C52 C52x 1992


McCaffrey, Anne. The Girl Who Heard Dragons. Illustrated by Judy King-Rieniets. (New Castle, Va.: Cheap Street, 1985).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3563 .A255 G55x 1985


Waldrop, Howard. You Could Go Home Again. Illustrated by Judy J. King. (Newcastle, Va.: Cheap Street, 1993).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3573 .A4228 Y68 1993


Targ Editions

Asimov, Issac. 3 By Asimov: Three Science Fiction Tales. (New York: Targ Editions, 1981).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS PS3551 .S5 A615 1981


Top of page


Exhibitions

From Verne to Vonnegut: a Century of Science Fiction , curated by Iris R. Snyder, September – December 2006.


Top of page


Internet Resources

AboutSF - A Science Fiction Resource Center
This comprehensive resource is a joint project of the University of Kansas, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and the Science Fiction Research Association.

A Few Thousand Science Fiction Covers
A photo mosaic of several thousand science fiction magazine and paperback covers.

Pulp Fiction Cover Art, George Kelley Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection
This digital library displays cover art from over 500 books and magazines and books of pulp fiction from the University at Buffalo’s George Kelly Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection. Images are indexed by genre, author, cover artist and image subjects.

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
Developed at Texas A&M University, this online index to history and criticism material provides access to over 87,000 individual items.  The database is searchable by author, title, imprint, and subject terms.


Top of page



This page is maintained by Special Collections.
10/31/13

  • UD Library Special Collections  •   181 South College Avenue  •   Newark, DE 19717-5267  •   USA
    Phone: USA +1 302-831-2229  •   ©2014