In general, University of Delaware manuscript finding aids include biographical notes, scope and content notes, series outlines, series descriptions, and container lists. All complete finding aids, including container lists, are available in the repository. In addition to the unpublished finding aids and inventories, Special Collections maintains a database of literary and historical correspondence and manuscripts.
A selected listing of these sources is included below, along with their manuscript collection numbers. For assistance of any kind, please contact a Librarian in Special Collections.
[General store]
Account book from a general store in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania,
1817-1818. Records individual transactions for various
merchandise.
Farmer's Bank of the State of Delaware
Ledger, 1813-1865.
Robinson Perkins
Account book for a watch and clock repairman from Jaffrey, New
Hampshire, 1801-1829.
William H. Russell
Daybook and account book for store in Newark, Delaware, 1825-
1838.
John Clark. Journal, 1852.
Journal kept on voyage from
New York to San Francisco with details of daily matters such as
food, weather, and fellow passengers and crew.
The Herald. Ship Log, 1841-1845.
Locations Indian Ocean, Pacific Ocean. Ship's log for the Herald
of Stonington, Connecticut, on two separate whaling voyages:
1841-1843 to the Indian Ocean and 1845 to the Pacific Ocean.
Mary A.H. Hoskins. Diary, 1857.
Location Philadelphia. Diary entries mostly concern family
matters, social activities, and domestic life.
Craigie P. Jenks. Diary, 1851.
Location Boston. Diary kept by farmhand reflecting work,
religious convictions, social activities, and family matters.
[Unknown] "Lonely hours: a collection of miscellaneous songs and
poems," 1848.
Location Wilmington. Album of poetry and song compiled by
unknown author. Includes an epic poem entitled "Evanore: a tale
of the Brandywine in two parts."
Ms 175 James C. Booth Papers, ca. 1787-1888.
Consists largely of the papers of James C. Booth (1810-1888), an
American geologist and chemist. Personal and professional
correspondence, business documents, notebooks and journals,
family papers, an extensive group of material relating to Booth's
mother's family, and a collection of his father's (George Booth)
literary manuscripts.
Ms 290 Thomas R. Booth Diaries, 1855-1860.
Six diaries kept by Booth, working as an engineer for the Pacific
Railroad Co. (and other lines) in Missouri. The diaries note
engineering challenges, personalities involved in management and
construction of the railroad, details of daily life, and thoughts
predicting the dark future of the Civil War.
Ms 242 Andrew Clow & Co. Papers, 1783-1814.
Business records and correspondence of Philadelphia-based
importing/exporting firm. Partners Andrew Clow and David Cay
primarily traded textiles with merchants in ports of London,
Baltimore, Liverpool, and Cadiz.
Ms 271 George Gillespie Evans Papers, 1815-1904.
Trustee of Newark College and storekeeper. Collection includes
correspondence, diaries, ledgers and accounts, and records of
loans, real estate, and other investments.
Ms 117 Latimer Family Papers, 1690-1927, bulk dates 1770-1870.
Collection detailing the personal and business affairs of this
family in the area of Chester County and Philadelphia,
Pennsylvania, and Delaware. Particularly interesting for
historical and economic documentation in the context of
revolutionary America and early 19th century trade. Features
papers of Dr. Henry Latimer, appointed in 1781 as Surgeon General
of the Northern Division of the Continental Army, later elected
member of the Delaware State Legislature and member of the U.S.
House of Representatives; and John R. Latimer, who established an
overseas trading business with China, 1815-1834.
Ms 130 Lewis Family Papers, 1700-1931, bulk dates 1780-1860.
Personal and legal papers of Newark, Delaware, family. Of
particular note are papers of Albert Gallatin Lewis (1798-1883)
concerning land purchases in and around Newark.
Ms 161 Lukens Family Papers, 1750-1904, bulk dates 1759-1800.
Personal papers and business records of members of the Lukens
family of Philadelphia. Bulk of the collection concerns John
Lukens, Surveyor-General of Pennsylvania and Delaware, 1761-1776
and 1781-1789. Includes much information on surveying, business
and land transactions, and estate settlements.
Ms 203 Cornelius Masten Papers, 1811-1886.
Personal, business, and legal correspondence of Cornelius Masten,
Judge of Yates County, New York.
Ms 240 Samuel Meredith Papers, 1730-1823.
Primarily business records and correspondence of Philadelphia
merchant, Samuel Meredith. Meredith was appointed Treasurer of
the United States, a position he held from 1789-1801.
Back to the UD Special Collections Home Page