Special Collections Department
HISTORY POST-1880
Selected Manuscript and Archival Resources
for reference assistance
email Special Collections
or contact:
Special Collections, University of Delaware Library
Newark, Delaware 19717-5267
(302) 831-2229
George Handy Bates Samoan Papers
ca. 1869-1893, 328 items.
Papers of George Handy Bates (1845-1916), a Delaware attorney and Democratic
official. Papers consist of documents, memoranda, correspondence, clippings,
photographs, printed material, and other papers relating to Bates's tenure as
investigator into Samoan affairs and as commissioner to the 1889 Berlin
Conference on Samoan affairs.
Beebe, Anna, Papers
1913-1919, 219 items.
Personal correspondence directed to Anna
Beebe, a young Lewes, Delaware, resident. Correspondence includes discussions
of social and cultural activities, as well as comments on current events in
Delaware, particularly in the Lewes and Wilmington areas.
Brayman, Harold H., Papers
1900-1988, 22 linear feet.
The papers of Harold H. Brayman, an author and
journalist who was director of public relations for the DuPont Co. from 1942-
1965. Numerous scrapbooks document every facet of Brayman's journalism career
during which he covered every national political convention from 1928-1940 and
was elected President of the National Press Club (1938) and the Gridiron Club
(1941). Extensive files of correspondence, texts of speeches, and other
material document Brayman's pioneering work in the field of corporate public
relations.
Bright, Robert Southall,. Papers
1792-1939, ca. 3.5 linear ft.
The papers of Robert Southall Bright ( 1872-1943), a Philadelphia attorney. Includes
business and personal correspondence, miscellaneous family papers, photographs,
and material relating to Bright's political activities, including examples of
his speeches.
Coleman, Emily, Papers
1899-1974, ca. 37.5 linear ft.
Papers of the American expatriate writer. During
the 1920s Coleman was associated with the group of writers in Paris who
contributed to transition magazine; in the latter decades of her life she was
active with Dorothy Day's Catholic Worker. In addition to Coleman's
manuscripts, personal notebooks, diaries, family correspondence and
memorabilia, the papers include extensive literary and personal
correspondence.
Desegregation of Delaware Archives
1960-1982, ca. 6 linear ft.
Material relating to school
desegregation in the state of Delaware. The collection includes published and
unpublished reports, correspondence and memoranda, pamphlets and reports,
newspaper clippings, and other material, the majority of which concerns
Delaware's planning for the federally mandated desegregation program in the
late 1970s.
Dunbar-Nelson, Alice, Papers
1875-1935, 8 linear ft.
Papers of the noted black author and
activist, who resided in Wilmington, Delaware. Includes substantial personal,
professional, and literary correspondence; manuscripts of Dunbar-Nelson's
poetry, fiction, essays, and journalism; diaries and scrapbooks; and material
relating to her work for the NAACP, the American Friends Service Committee,
and other social and political organizations. Of particular note are the
extensive correspondence between Dunbar-Nelson and her first husband, the poet
Paul Laurence Dunbar, and the detailed diaries Dunbar-Nelson maintained
throughout most of her adult life.
Ernest, John Reynolds, Papers
1941-1944, 2 linear ft.
Papers relating to Ernest and
other individuals in their official capacity with the United States Army
Aircraft Warning Service and the Newark, Delaware, Council for Civilian
Defense. Includes memoranda, reports, and other supporting documents
pertaining to Civil Defense activities. Documents concern such issues as
civil defense procedures and administration, including meetings, drills, fund
raising, public relations, and various personnel issues. Also includes such
materials as official civil defense armbands, an air raid helmet, rationbooks, logbooks, and personnel documents.
Federal Writers Project. Delaware. Records
1936-1941.
Original manuscripts
and research materials for the WPA guide to Delaware. Bound into 48 volumes
with a comprehensive name and subject index.
Frear, J. Allen, Jr., Papers
1903-1993, 80 linear ft.
The papers of J. Allen Frear, Jr., former
United States Senator from Delaware, who served in the Senate from 1948-1960.
The Frear Papers include extensive files of correspondence, memoranda, office
files, reports, documents, photographs, and memorabilia documenting J. Allen
Frear, Jr.'s senatorial career. Also includes papers relating to Frear's
service with the SEC, 1961-1963, as well as early personal papers.
Gray, George, Papers
1870-1925, ca. 11 linear ft.
Papers of George Gray (1840-1925), former
U.S. Senator from Delaware, who was also a judge and diplomat. Papers consist
largely of materials relating to Gray's service as judge for the U.S. Circuit
Court of Appeals, Third District. Also includes material pertaining to
arbitration decisions involving a 1902 coal strike; the North Atlantic
Fisheries Arbitration, 1909-1910; Illinois Coal Operators Association and
United Mine Workers; joint arbitration between U.S. and Mexico, 1911; 1903
Alabama coal strike; the U.S. versus E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., 1912-1913,
and other cases.
Harris, Mark, Papers
ca. 1937-1982, ca. 40 linear ft.
Papers of this American
author documenting every facet of his life and career. Includes extensive
literary correspondence and manuscript material, family papers, scrapbooks,
and Mark Harris's personal journals which he has maintained daily from 1961-
1981. Although Harris is best known for his fiction, notably the novel Bang
the Drum Slowly, he worked for many years as a journalist, and has also
written numerous political and social essays. His papers include material
documenting these interests.
Lewis, John Frederick, Correspondence
1885-1932, ca. 7 linear ft.
Business and
personal correspondence of this Philadelphia attorney who lived from 1860-1932. Includes material
relating to his activities as a member of the firm of Lewis, Adler & Laws;
American Academy of Music; the Historical Society of Pennsylvania; the
Mercantile Library of Philadelphia; and the U.S. Shipping Board during World
War I.
McCord, Howard, Papers
1964-1971, 753 items.
Papers of the American poet
and editor. Primarily literary correspondence, however, correspondents
discuss politics, the Vietnam War, and various other social and cultural
issues.
Matthews, Elva de Pue, Papers
1917-1962, ca. 3 linear ft.
Correspondence, literary
manuscripts, and papers of this American author. Although the bulk of the
papers concern Matthews's literary activities, they include correspondence
from a number of figures of political and historical interest, including Floyd
Dell, Waldo Frank, Jacques Maritain, and others.
Maxwell, James R., Papers
ca. 1860-1922, ca. 4.5 linear ft.
Papers of a railroad
civil engineer who resided in Newark, Delaware, and who worked on assignments
in the Western United States and Latin America. Includes family and business
correspondence, journals and diaries, photographs, account books, papers
relating to Maxwell's engineering work, and an unpublished autobiography
titled, "Incidents in an Engineer's Life in the Far West," [1866-1870], 235
pp.
Messersmith, George Strausser, Papers
1907-1961, ca. 4200 items.
Diplomatic and
professional papers of George S. Messersmith (1883-1966). Includes correspondence,
memoranda, and official dispatches written during Messersmith's tenure with
the U.S. Department of State, as well as during his subsequent business
career. 949 pages of typescript memoranda written for his unpublished memoirs
are also present. The papers include extensive discussions of political and
economic matters regarding Europe during the 1930s and Latin America in the
1940s and 1950s.
Oral History Collection
ca. 280 items.
Audiotapes of oral history interviews conducted
under the direction of the University of Delaware History Department from
1966-1979. Topics include European immigrants in Delaware, rural life in
Delaware, Delaware history, blacks in Delaware, University of Delaware faculty
and administrators, and education in Delaware. The majority of the interviews
are available in transcript form.
Parker, Jessica Southard, Journal
1899-1916, 9 volumes.
Personal diary of
Jessica S. Parker (1873-?) of Belmont, Massachusetts. Entries relate primarily to
family affairs, social activities, travel, literary and theatrical concerns,
and current events. Includes numerous theatrical programs, photographs, and
memorabilia.
Richardson, William, Papers
1919-1945, .3 linear ft.
The bulk of the papers consist of the
correspondence between William Richardson, a Newark, Delaware, native, and his
mother, Mrs. Orville Little, written during his military service in World War
II. Also includes photographs, documents, and clippings.
Williams, John J., Papers
1947-1970, 150 linear ft.
The papers of John J. Williams (1904-1988), who served as
United States Senator from Delaware from 1947-1970. The Williams Papers
include extensive files of correspondence, memoranda, office files, reports,
documents, photographs, and memorabilia documenting Williams's 24-year career
as a United States Senator.
Footer
Back to Special
Collections Home Page
Return to list of Subject Guides and Selected Bibliographies
This page is maintained by
Special Collections
Last modified: 10/28/03