University of Delaware Library
Bookmark and Share

Early Modern Philosophy:
Selected Primary Sources

for reference assistance email Special Collections

or contact:
Special Collections, University of Delaware Library
Newark, Delaware 19717-5267
(302) 831-2229




Aristotle.

Aristotelis De natura animalium lib. ix, eiusdem De partibus animalium lib. iiii, eiusdem De generatione animalium lib. v, Theophrasti De historia plantarum lib. ix … eiusdem De causis plantarum lib. vi, Aristotelis Problemata … Alexa[n]dri Aphrodisiensis [pro]blemata … Insunt praeterea huic uolumine tractatus tres … ([Venetii, In aedibus Aldi & Andreae Asulani soceri, 1513]).

Colophon, on recto of leaf 108, dated 1513; dedication dated 1504.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PA3604 .A1 1513


Bacon, Francis, 1561-1626.

The essayes or covnsels, civill and morall of Francis Lo. Vervlam, Viscovnt St. Alban. (London : Printed by Iohn Haviland for Hanna Barret, and Richard Whitaker, and are to be sold at the signe of the King’s head in Pauls Church-yard., 1625.)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (22 cm) PR2206 .A3 1625


Charleton, Walter, 1619-1707.

Gualteri Charletoni exercitationes de differentiis & nominibus animalium. : Quibus accedunt mantissa anatomica, et quædam de variis fossilium generibus, deque differentiis & nominibus colorum. 2nd ed. (Oxoniæ, : e theatro Sheldoniano, 1677).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) QH41 .C47x 1677


Descartes, René, 1596-1650.

Renati Des Cartes Meditationes de prima philosophia in quibus Dei existentia, & animæ humanæ à corpore distinctio, demonstrantur ; his adjunctæ sunt variæ objectiones doctorum virorum in istas de Deo & anima demonstrationes, com responsionibus auctoris. Editio ultima prioribus auctior et emendatior. (Amstelodami : Apud Danielem Elsevirium, 1678).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (22 cm) B1850 1678


Renati Des-Cartes Opera philosophica. Editio ultima, nunc demum hac editione diligenter recognita, & mendis expurgata. ([Amstelodami : Ex Typographia Blaviana, 1692]).

A collection of several works, which had been separately issued. Includes the Principia Philosophiae.

Illustrated, with an engraved title page signed Franciscus Schooten.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (22 cm) B1836 1692


Renati Des Cartes Specimina philosophiæ, sev Dissertatio de methodo, rectè regendæ rationis, & veritatis in scientiis investigandæ: Dioptrice, et Meteora. Ex Gallico translata & ab auctore … emendata. (Amstelodami: Apud L. Elzevirium, 1644). Translated by Étienne de Courcelles.

The Latin translation of Discours de la méthode.

Illustrated.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (UNIDEL 22 cm) B1860 1644b


Six metaphysical meditations; wherein it is proved that there is a God. And that mans mind is really distinct from his body. Written originally in Latin by Renatus des-Cartes. Hereunto are added the objections made against these meditations. By Thomas Hobbes of Malmesbury. With the authors answers. All faithfully translated into English, with a short account of Des-Cartes’s life. By William Molyneux. (London: printed by B.G. for Benj. Tooke at the Ship in St. Pauls Church-yard, 1680).

The first English edition of Descartes’ Meditationes de Prima Philosophia.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (18 cm) B1853 .E5 M7 1680


Galilei, Galileo, 1564-1642.

Dialogo di Galileo Galilei Linceo matematico sopraordinario dello stvdio di Pisa. E filosofo, e matematico primario del serenissimo gr. dvca di Toscana. Doue ne i congressi di quattro giornate si discorre sopra i due massimi sistemi del mondo tolemaico, e copernicano; proponendo indeterminatamente le ragioni filosofiche, e naturali tanto per l’vna, quanto per l’altra parte. (Fiorenza, Per Gio: Batista Landini, 1632).

Suppressed by the Inquisition in 1633.

Engraved title page, signed Stefan Della Bella.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (28 cm) QB41 .G14


Opere di Galileo Galilei … In questa nuoua editione insieme raccolte, e di varij trattati dell’ istesso autore non più stampati accresciute. (Bologna: per gli HH. del Dozza, 1656).

A collection of several works, which had been separately issued.

Illustrated, with an engraved title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (UNIDEL 24 cm) QB3 .G14 1656


Gassendi, Pierre, 1592-1655.

Petri Gassendi Diniensis ecclesiae praepositi … opera omnia : in sex tomos divisa … hactenus edita auctor ante obitum recensuit, auxit, illustrauit : posthuma verò totius naturae explicationem complectentia, in lucem nunc primùm prodeunt, ex bibliotheca illustris viri Henrici Lvdovici Haberti Mon-Morii … (Lvgdvni : Sumptibus Lavrentii Anisson & Ioan. Bapt. Devenet, 1658).

Engraved title page, signed Nanteuil.


Petri Gassendi Institutio astronomica: juxta hypotheses tam veterum quàm recentiorum, Cui accesserunt Galilei Galilei Nuntius sidereus, et Johannis Kepleri Dioptrice. 2nd ed. (Londini: typis Jacobi Flesher, 1653).

Illustrated.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (18 cm) QB41 G2 1653


Harvey, William, 1578-1657.

Exercitationes de generatione animalium : quibus accedunt quaedam De partu ; De membranis ac humoribus uteri ; & De conceptione / Autore Guilielmo Harveo … cum elencho exercitationum. (Patavii : Typis heredum Pauli Frambotti, MDCLXVI [1666].)

Engraved title page, signed I. Ruphonus

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (18 cm) QL955 H37x 1666


Hobbes, Thomas, 1588-1679.

Leviathan, or, The matter, forme, & power of a common-wealth ecclesiasticall and civill. (London : Printed for Andrew Crooke …, 1651).

Engraved title page.

Ownership inscription of Sir Philip Warwick (1609-1683), with his criticism of the work inscribed on the title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) JC153 .H65 1651


Locke, John, 1632-1704.

An essay concerning humane understanding : in four books. (London : Printed for Tho. Basset, and sold by Edw. Mory …, 1690).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) B1290 1690


Machiavelli, Niccolò, 1469-1527.

The works of the famous Nicholas Machiavel, citizen and secretary of Florence / originally written in Italian, and from thence newly and faithfully translated into English. (London : Printed for John Starkey, Charles Harper, and John Amery …, 1680).

The Prince contains extensive holograph marginalia, in a contemporary hand.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) DG731.5 .M32 1680


Montaigne, Michel Eqyquem de, 1533-1592.

The Essayes or, morall, politike, and militarie discovrses of Lord Michael de Montaigne, Knight of the noble order of Saint Michael, and one of the gentlemen in ordinary of the French Kings Chamber. 3rd ed. Trans. John Florio. (London: by M. Flesher, for Rich: Royston, 1632).

Third printing of the first English translation of Montaigne.

Engraved title page, signed Martin Dr. [i.e., Martin Droeshout]

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PQ1642 .E5 F6 1632


Newton, Isaac, Sir, 1642-1727.

Philosophia naturalis principia mathematica. (Londini: Jussu Societatis Regiae ac Typis Josephi Streater. Prostant Venales apud Sam. Smith ad insignia Principis Walliae in Coemiterio D. Pauli, aliosq; nonnullos Bibliopolas, 1687).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (26 cm) QA803 .A2 1687


Nisbet, Charles, 1736-1804.

Lectures on metaphysics delivered by Chas. Nisbet ; [transcribed by] R. Johns. 1793. 1 v. ([2], 286 [i.e. 287), [1] p.)

Holograph transcription of Nisbet’s lectures taken by Richard Johns, class of 1794.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS MSS 095 Item 12


Plato.

Omnia divini Platonis opera tralatione Marsilii Ficini ; emendatione et ad Graecum codicem collatione Simonis Grynaei, summa diligentia repurgata, quibus subiectus est index quam copiossimus. (Basileae : In Officina Frobeniana, 1546).

The first complete translation of Plato into a European language.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PA4280 .A5 F5 1546

Top of page



This page is maintained by Special Collections.
12/14/10

  • UD Library Special Collections  •   181 South College Avenue  •   Newark, DE 19717-5267  •   USA
    Phone: USA +1 302-831-2229  •   ©2014