for reference assistance email Special Collections
Special Collections, University of Delaware Library
Newark, Delaware 19717-5267
Atlas of properties on Main Line, Pennsylvania Railroad from Overbrook to Paoli : embracing Lower Merion, Haverford and Radnor Townships and parts of Upper Merion, Easttown and Tredyffrin Townships ; compiled from actual surveys, official records and private plans / by Ellis Kiser and J. M. Lathrop ; under the direct supervision and management of A. H. Mueller, publisher.
Philadelphia : A. H. Mueller, 1913.
LOCATION: Special Collections Folio+ G1261.G4 M84 1913
Philadelphia : Burk & McFetridge, 18 -
LOCATION: Special Collections Delaware HE8841 .P52
Fifty glimpses of Worcester and Lake Quinsigamond. An up-to-date booklet for the visitor, the resident, and for transmission to show something of Worcester, the most rapidly growing city in New England.
Worcester, Mass., The Denholm & McKay company, 1902.
LOCATION: Special Collections F74.W7 F4 Non-Circulating
The guests' guide to the city of Philadelphia : containing such information as will be found valuable to the guests of this house.
[S.l. : s.n., 1885?]
LOCATION: Special Collections F158.18 .P54 1885
Fairmount park and the international exhibition at Philadelphia, by Charles S. Keyser.
Philadelphia, Claxton, Remsen & Haffelfinger, 1876.
LOCATION: Special Collections T825.A2 K48
Philadelphia city passenger railway guide. And advertising medium. Embracing the route of the city passenger railways ...
[Philadelphia] F. I. Mitchell & co., [1876, c1874]
LOCATION: Special Collections HE4491.P53 P5 1876
Purchasing directory published for the special benefit of those who contemplate furnishing a new hotel or refurnishing an old one.
Philadelphia : The Company, [ca. 1880].
LOCATION: Special Collections Trade Catalog
Our new classified catalog of choice reading for 1880 / Philadelphia Premium Book Company.
Philadelphia, Pa. : The Company, [1880?].
LOCATION: Special Collections Trade Catalog Non-Circulating
Rae's Philadelphia pictorial directory and panoramic advertiser : Chestnut Street from Second to Tenth Streets.
Philadelphia, Pa. : Julio H. Rae, 1851.
LOCATION: Special Collections folio+ F158.67 .C5 R1
Philadelphia as it is in 1852 : being a correct guide to all the public buildings; literary, scientific, and benevolent institutions; and places of amusement ; remarkable objects; manufacturies; commercial warehouses; and wholesale and retail stores in Philadelphia and its vicinity ... By R.A. Smith.
Philadelphia, Lindsay and Blakiston, 1852.
LOCATION: Special Collections F158.44 .S6 1852
Wilson's American ornithology : with notes by Jardine : to which is added a synopsis of American birds, including those described by Bonaparte, Audubon, Nuttall, and Richardson / By T. M. Brewer.
Boston : Otis, Broaders, and co., 1840.
LOCATION: Special Collections QL681 .W75 1840
MSS 093 Item 015, Richard W. Davids, Scrapbooks of advertisements from the Centennial Exhibition, 1876; 1 volume.
This scrapbook contains colorful trade ephemera and scraps assembled in an album by Richard W. Davids, who attended the Centennial Exhibition held in Philadelphia in 1876. Many of the scraps depict pavilions and exhibit halls from the event, which featured over 30,000 exhibitors for a period of six months on the grounds of Fairmount Park.
MSS 097 Item 113, Henry W. Marston, A Daily journal for 1875, 1 January, 1875-31 December, 1875; 1 volume.
This daily journal was kept as an exercise for proper spelling by Henry W. Marston, a student of the middle class of West Penn Academy, who resided with his family in suburban Philadelphia. The volume includes details of family and social life, school, church, and his first job as a junior scribe in a Philadelphia office. It also includes descriptions of opening events for the Centennial Exhibition.
MSS 129 John Frederick Lewis papers, 1860-1932, 1882 - 1932 (bulk dates 1909 - 1928); 4.6 linear feet and 75 volumes.
The papers of prominent Philadelphia lawyer and philanthropist John Frederick Lewis span the dates 1882 to1932 and include letterbooks, correspondence, advertising brochures, legal documents, and ephemera. The papers primarily document the legal business of Lewis through his work at the firm Lewis, Adler & Laws, but also reflect social and domestic affairs of John Lewis and his wife, Anne Baker Lewis, as well as cultural interests, through development of personal collections and institutional affiliations.
MSS 205 Philadelphia Theatrical papers, 1877-1943 (bulk dates 1890s-1920s); 1 linear foot.
The Philadelphia Theatrical papers contains correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, advertisements, programs, playbills, financial documents, ledgers, obituaries, postcards, contracts, broadsides, scrapbooks, and telegrams. The papers cover a particularly important period in the theatrical history of America. During this time the rise and fall of monopolistic management and production agencies as well as the expansion of touring companies were impetuses for the success of theatrical businesses such as Nixon & Zimmerman. A majority of the papers in the collection are about their company, which was a successful innovator in Philadelphia, the region, and the country in the decades around the turn of the twentieth century.
MSS 240 Samuel Meredith papers, 1730 to 1832 (bulk dates 1764-1823); 2 linear feet.
The Samuel Meredith papers comprises letters, receipts, bills, checks, a deed, and account books, particularly rich in accounts for textiles and clothing. Another large portion of the bills and receipts reflect the foods stuffs being purchased or sold by the Meredith family in the late eighteenth century. The majority of the papers belonged to Samuel Meredith, the first treasurer of the United States, though a small portion of the collection represents the correspondence of Thomas Meredith, Samuel Meredith’s oldest son.
MSS 327 Biddle family papers, 1766-1943 (bulk dates 1870-1927); 8 linear feet.
The Biddle family papers comprises deeds, indentures, contracts, correspondence, receipts, photographs, ledgers and account books, publications, essays, postcards, ephemera, and clippings. The Biddle family papers preserve over one hundred and fifty years of material related to this prominent Philadelphia family, and detail extensively their professional lineage as attorneys, notary publics, and bankers. Resulting from the intermarriage with two other established Philadelphia families, the Biddle family papers also contain materials related to the Lippincott and Rush families.
MSS 329 Koch-Messchert family papers, 1784-1914 (bulk dates 1830-1839, 1870-1914); 1.5 linear feet.
The Koch - Messchert family papers comprises shipping transactions, legal documents such as powers of attorney and passports, wills, inventories, account books, real estate papers, leases, court documents, and correspondence pertaining to the business of Philadelphia merchant Jacob Gerard Koch. The collection largely consists of papers relating to the settlement of Jacob Gerard Koch’s estate, as well as personal correspondence of Jane Koch and the Messchert family.
MSS 364 Charles Edward Rahn architectural drawings, 1892-1933; 128 items and six volumes.
Charles Edward Rahn (fl. 1885-1933) was a Philadelphia architect whose work was primarily in the design of residential buildings. In 1885, Rahn studied at the Franklin Institute Drawing School in Philadelphia. From 1887 to 1888, and also from 1892 to 1893, Rahn studied at the Pennsylvania Museum & School of Industrial Art. He is listed in the Philadelphia city directory as a draftsman after 1897, and by the following year he was established in his own practice at 410 Walnut Street. Residential designs in this collection include row houses in West Philadelphia as well as large suburban homes. These houses were generally created in styles that were popular around the turn of the century, including elements of the Queen Anne, the stick style, the Romanesque, and Jacobean revival.
MSS 394 Girvin family papers, 1869-1910; 1 linear foot (ca. 400 items).
The Girvin Family papers span from 1869 to 1910 and consist principally of personal and professional papers of turn-of-the century Philadelphian physicians, Robert M. Girvin and his son, John Harper Girvin. The collection consists of two series: correspondence and receipts of various family members.
MSS 419 The Bassoon, 1889 – 1892; 5 volumes (.6 linear feet).
The Bassoon consists of five volumes of a handwritten serial that was created by members of the Bachelor’s Ten Society, a club of teenage boys who attended Central High School in Philadelphia. The manuscripts include serial stories, cartoons, caricatures, editorials, plays, sporting reports, and poetry. The volumes provide a rare opportunity to study the activities and imaginations of six boys who attended Central High, a prominent public school that became a model for the American educational system at the turn of the nineteenth century.
MSS 421 Alice Marston scrapbook, 1896-1906; 1 volume.
The Alice Marston scrapbook chronicles a decade of Marston family life, revealing information about the social, cultural, and leisure activities of an ordinary upper-middle-class Philadelphia family at the turn of the twentieth century. This one-volume scrapbook includes approximately 150 photographs, tintypes, engraved wedding invitations, handmade party favors, artwork, scraps, postcards, programs from cultural and charity events, newspaper articles, and correspondence. Alice Marston, wife of Henry Ward Marston of Overbrook, Pennsylvania.
MSS 424 Nathaniel Borradaile Browne papers, 1819-1875; .3 linear feet (ca. 160 items).
The N.B. Browne papers documents professional and personal affairs of a successful nineteenth- century Philadelphia businessman and public servant. Comprising .3 linear feet of correspondence, legal documents, and financial papers, much of the collection roughly corresponds to Browne’s various occupations and is arranged in three series: legal practice; political appointments; and public service, business, and personal affairs. The third series includes material related to Fairmount Park.
MSS 562 Helen Farr Sloan Philadelphia Inquirer notebooks, 1886-1896; 5.3 linear feet.
The Helen Farr Sloan Philadelphia Inquirer notebooks consists of fourteen binders of Philadelphia-area news clippings broadly related to the subject of art. Materials date from 1886 to 1896, encompassing the early years of John Sloan’s work in Philadelphia, and suggest that Mrs. Sloan supported this project to collect biographical and historical context for this period of her husband’s career. The collection includes photocopies of art-related materials published in the following Philadelphia newspapers: The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Evening Call, The Evening Telegraph, The Evening Bulletin, North American, The Philadelphia Press, The Philadelphia Record, Public Ledger, and The Times. The bulk of the articles are from The Philadelphia Inquirer. The collection is organized in chronological order and is divided into three series.Top of page