Special Collections Department
New Castle County
Delaware
Selected Manuscript and Archival Sources
for reference assistance
email Special Collections
or contact:
Special Collections, University of Delaware Library
Newark, Delaware 19717-5267
(302) 831-2229
Ms 117 Latimer Family Papers
1690-1927, 6 linear ft.
Family papers, documents, deeds, etc. of the Latimer Family of
Newport and Wilmington. Prominent figures include James Latimer
(1719-1807), founder of Newport; Henry Latimer (b. 1752), surgeon
in the Continental Army, Delaware representative in the U.S.
House of Representatives, and politician; and John R. Latimer
(1794-1865), overseas trader. A significant portion of the
collection concerns John R. Latimer's trade with Canton, 1825-
1834.
Ms 130 Lewis Family Papers
1700-1930, 3.5 linear ft.
Personal and legal papers of the Lewis family, primarily of
Newark, Delaware. Includes the papers of Albert Gallatin Lewis
(1798-1883)--general correspondence, farming records, day books,
and legal documents concerned with land purchases in and around
Newark.
Ms 175 James Curtis Booth Papers
ca. 1772-1903, bulk dates
1833-1888, 4.8 linear ft.
Personal, professional, and family papers of James Curtis Booth
(1810-1888), chemist, teacher, and first state geologist of
Delaware. Son of George Booth and Ann Bolton Booth, residents of
New Castle, Delaware. Family correspondence of George and Ann
Booth provides insight to life in New Castle.
Ms 221 John Janvier Black Papers
1860-1909, 49 volumes and 17
items.
Notebooks and diaries of Delaware resident and physician John
Janvier Black (1837-1909). Black was born in Delaware City and
practised in New Castle. His notebooks and diaries include
physician's visiting lists, hospital observations, and
miscellaneous information.
Ms 271 George Gillespie Evans Papers
1839-1904, 52 volumes.
Personal and business papers of George Gillespie Evans (1815-
1904), trustee of Newark College and storekeeper in Newark,
Delaware. Includes records of loans, real estate and other
investments, diaries, ledgers, day books and cash books.
Footer
Back to Special
Collections Home Page
Return to list of Subject Guides and Selected Bibliographies
This page is maintained by
Special Collections
Last modified: 11/03/03