The University of Delaware Library

Special Collections Department


Early Modern Movement and Motion in Special Collections
University of Delaware English Department
Medieval-Renaissance Colloquium

November 28, 2005
Iris Snyder


This bibliography is focused on books from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries which relate thematically to the topic of movement and motion. This includes a broad range of material including boundaries, borders, scientific advances, travel, and transnational influences. The list represents only a small selection of books on this topic.


Albertus, Magnus, Saint, 1193?-1280.
Alberti cognomento Magni De secretis mulierum libellus, scholiis auctus, & à mendis repurgatus, eiusdem De virtutibus herbaru, lapidum, & animalium quorunda libellus, item… Lvgdvni : [s.n.], 1566.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections R128.6 .A43

Aristotle.
Aristotelis Mechanica / Græca emendata, Latina facta & commentariis illustrata ab Henrico Monantholio ... Parisiis : Apud Ieremiam Perier ..., 1599.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections PA3893 .M3 1599

Biringucci, Vannoccio, 1480-1539?
La pyrotechnie. A Paris : Chez Claude Fremy, 1572.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Unidel TN144 .B5 F1572

Branca, Giovanni, 1571-1640.
Le machine. In Roma : Ad ista[n]za di Iacomo Martuci ... per Iacomo Mascardi, 1629.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections TJ144 .B75 1629

Caus, Isaac de, 1590-1648.
New and rare inventions of water-works. London, Printed by Joseph Moxon: and Sold at his shop in Cornhill, at the Signe of Atlas. 1659.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections FOLIO TJ144 .C37

Cortese, Isabella.
I secreti de la signora Isabella Cortese. In Venetia : Appresso Giouanni Bariletto, 1574.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Unidel TP983 .C67x 1574

Dampier, William, 1652-1715.
A new voyage round the world. London, James Knapton, 1697.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections G420 .D15 1697

Desargues, Gérard, 1591-1661.
La manière vniverselle de Mr. Desargves, Lyonnois. Paris, De l'impr. de P. Des-Hayes, 1643.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections QB215 .D47

Dioscorides Pedanius, of Anazarbos.
Dioscoride fatto di Greco Italiano : al cvi fine sono apposte le sue tauole ordinate, con certe auertenze, e trattati necessarij, per la materia medesima. [Venetia] : Per Curtio Troiano di Nauò, 1542 (In Venetia : Per Giouanni de Farri & fratelli)
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Unidel R126 .D66x 1542

Fontana, Domenico, 1543-1607.
Della trasportatione dell'Obelisco vaticano. Roma : D. Basa, 1590.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections folio DT62 .O2 F65

Galilei, Galileo, 1564-1642.
Opere di Galileo Galilei. Bologna, per gli HH. del Dozza, 1656.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Unidel QB3 .G14 1656

Herbert, Thomas, Sir, 1606-1682.
Some yeares travels into divers parts of Asia and Afrique. London, Printed by R. Bip. for I. Blome and R. Bishop, 1638.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections folio DS7 .H54

Hortus sanitatis. [Strasbourg : Reinhard Beck, anno 1517].
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Horticulture RS79 .H67 1517

Langham, William.
The garden of health : containing the sundry rare and hidden vertues and properties of all kindes of simples and plants ... London : Printed by T. Harper, 1633.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Horticulture SB91 .A2 L347 1633

Martinelli, Domenico.
Horologi elementari. Venetia: Per B. Tramontino, 1669.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections QB214 .M3

Mattioli, Pietro Andrea, 1500-1577.
Petri Andreæ Matthioli senensis medici : commentarii in sex libros Pedacii Dioscoridis Anazarbei... Venetiis : Ex Officina Valgrisiana, 1565.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Unidel folio+ RS79 .M37 1565

Mercator, Gerhard, 1512-1594.
Atlas novus, sive, descriptio geographica totius orbis terrarium. Amstelodami : Apud Henricum Hondium & Joannem Jansonium, 1638.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections folio+ G 1007 .A7 1638

Montanus, Arnoldus, 1625?-1683.
Atlas chinensis: being a second part of a relation of remarkable passages in two embassies from the East-India company of the United provinces, to the Vice-Roy Singlamong and General Taising Lipovi, and to Konchi, emperor of China and East-Tartary. London : Printed by T. Johnson for the author [i.e. Ogilby] 1671.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections folio DS808 .M76 1671

Ptolemy, 2nd cent.
Claudii Ptholemaei ALexandrini liber geographiae cum tabulis et universali figura et cum additione locorum quae a recentioribus reperta sunt diligenti cura emendatus et impressus. [Venetiis, Iacobum Pentium de leucho, 1511]
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Folio G1001 .P84

Sandys, George, 1578-1644.
A relation of a journey begun An: Dom: 1610. London : Printed for W. Barrett, 1621.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections folio DS47 .S2 1621


Return to list of Selected Primary Resources and Bibliographies

Backgrounds for Special Collections' web pages are adapted from paper samples
from our extensive holdings related to printing and the books arts.
Footer
Back to the UD Special Collections Home Page

This page is maintained by Special Collections
Last modified: 12/22/05