Medieval Literature and its Influences
Resources in Special Collections
ENGL-322 | Chaucer | Dr. James Dean
The Special Collections Department of the University of Delaware Library houses a wealth of research material relating to the history and technology of printing and the book arts. The Library's extensive rare book collection contains examples of early printed books and manuscripts from the fifteenth century, as well as many high-quality facsimiles of important medieval literary works. Extensive holdings in eighteenth and nineteenth English and American literature include interpretations of earlier works including those produced by the Kelmscott Press and illustrated editions by Howard Pyle and the Brandywine School of illustrators.
Opuscula beati Anselmi archiepiscopi Ca[n]tuarie[n]sis ordinis Sancti Benedicti. [Basel : Johann Amerbach, not after 1497].
LOCATION: Special Collections B765 .A8 A3x 1497
De consideratione quintae essentiae rerum omnium. Manuscript, 15th century.
LOCATION: Special Collections Collection 095 Item 14
Troilus and Criseyde : a facsimile of Corpus Christi College Cambridge MS 61 / Geoffrey Chaucer ; with introd. by M.B. Parkes & Elizabeth Salter. Cambridge [Eng.] : D.S. Brewer, 1978.
LOCATION: Special Collections Folio PR1895 .A2 1978
Die Bamberger Apokalypse. Luzern : Faksimile Verlag Luzern, 2000.
LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO+ ND 3361 .R52 B354 2000
Later Editions of Medieval Literature
Le morte d'Arthur : printed by William Caxton / Sir Thomas Malory. London : Scolar Press in association with the Pierpont Morgan Library, 1976.
LOCATION: Special Collections folio PR2040 1976b
The boy's King Arthur : Sir Thomas Malory's history of King Arthur and his knights of the Round table / edited for boys by Sidney Lanier ; illustrated by N.C. Wyeth. New York : Scribner, 1933.
LOCATION: Special Collections PR2043 .L35x 1933
The works of Geoffrey Chaucer, now newly imprinted. [Colophon: Here ends the Book of the Works of Geoffrey Chaucer, edited by F. S. Ellis; ornamented with pictures designed by Sir Edward Burne-Jones, and engraved on wood by W. H. Hooper. Upper Mall, Hammersmith, in the county of Middlesex, Printed by me William Morris at the Kelmscott Press. Finished on the 8th day of May, 1896]
LOCATION: Special Collections Folio PR1850 1896
The defence of Guenevere : and other poems / by William Morris. Hammersmith : Kelmscott Press, 1892.
LOCATION: Special Collections PR 5078 .D4x 1892
Sir Galahad : a Christmas mystery / by William Morris. New Rochelle, N.Y. : The Elston Press, 1902.
LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO PR5078 .S4 1902
The story of Sir Launcelot and his companions, by Howard Pyle. New York, Scribner, 1907.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS2670 .S837 1907
Idylls of the king : Vivien, Elaine, Enid, Guinevere / by Alfred Tennyson ; with sixty original decorations by George Wooliscroft Rhead & Louis Rhead. New York : R.H. Russell, 1898.
LOCATION: Special Collections folio PR5558 .A1 1898
The pyed pyper : a passage extracted from A restitution of decayed intelligence in antiquities, by the studie & trauaile of Richard Verstegan ... London : John Norton, 1634 / images by Angela Lemaire. Llandogo, Monmouthshire : Old Stile Press, 2002.
LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO+ DA152 .V42 2002
Famous exploits of Robin Hood : including an account of his birth, education, and death. Penrith [England] : Joseph Allison, [18--?].
LOCATION: Special Collections PR974 .C65
The life and adventures of Robin Hood. Glasgow : Printed for the booksellers, 1855.
LOCATION: Special Collections PR974 .C53
The merry adventures of Robin Hood of great renown in Nottinghamshire, written & illustrated by Howard Pyle. New York, Scribner, 1883.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS2670 .M46 1883
Bold Robin Hood and his outlaw band: their famous exploits in Sherwood forest, penned and pictured by Louis Rhead. New York, Harper, 1912.
LOCATION: Special Collections DELAWARE ND237.S434 A6 R53
Robin Hood and the men of the greenwood, by Henry Gilbert; with 16 illustrations in colour by Walter Crane. Edinburgh and London, T. C. & E. C. Jack, 1912.
LOCATION: Special Collections PR6013.I333 R62 1912