Interior Design, 1850 - 1900
Selected Primary ResourcesFebruary 15, 2007 | Iris Snyder
Material on design can be found in several subject areas, each with different
library call numbers. Selected subject searches for DELCAT inlcude the following:
Browse "Subject begins with":
interior design
architecture, domestic
decoration and ornament
home economics
furniture--history
Trade catalogs in Special Collections include a wide range of material. They are often cataloged, for example, as "furniture-catalogs."
For an overview of material in Special Collections on design and decoration, refer to Special Collections exhibitions:
Defining Her Life: Advice Books for Women
http://www.lib.udel.edu/ud/spec/exhibits/women/index.htm
Trade Catalogs in the University of Delaware Library
http://www.lib.udel.edu/ud/spec/exhibits/tradecat/
An American Feast: Food, Dining, and Entertaining in the United States
from Simmons to Rombauer
http://www.lib.udel.edu/ud/spec/exhibits/american.html
Books in Special Collections
Barker, Lady (Mary Anne), 1831-1911.
The bedroom and boudoir. London: Macmillan, 1878.
LOCATION: Special Collections NK2117 .B7 1878
Beeton, Isabella Mary.
Mrs. Beeton's book of household management. London, 1869.
LOCATION: Special Collections In Process
Beecher, Catharine Esther, 1800-1878.
The American woman's home: or, Principles of domestic science; being a guide
to the formation and maintenance of economical, healthful, beautiful, and Christian
homes. By Catharine E. Beecher and Harriet Beecher Stowe. New York: J. B.
Ford and company; Boston, H. A. Brown & co.; 1869.
LOCATION: Special Collections TX145 .B415
Benjamin Moore & Co.
Home decorative interior suggestions. New York: Blanchard Press, [ca.
1890]
LOCATION: Special Collections Trade Catalog
Cook, Clarence, 1828-1900.
The house beautiful: essays on beds and tables, stools and candlesticks.
New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1881, c1877.
LOCATION: Special Collections NK 2115 .C8 1881
Dennison Manufacturing Company.
Art & decoration in crêpe & tissue paper. Boston, Mass.:
[The Company, 19th century or early 20th century]
LOCATION: Special Collections Trade Catalog
E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Company.
Du Pont color cards : paints, varnishes, enamels ...Wilmington, Del.:
The Company, 19--
LOCATION: Special Collections Trade Catalog
Eastlake, Charles L. (Charles Locke), 1833-1906.
Hints on household taste in furniture, upholstery, and other details.
Boston: J. R. Osgood and company, 1872.
LOCATION: Special Collections NK2115 .E3
Gibson, Louis Henry, 1854-
Beautiful houses; a study in house-building. Foreign examples in domestic architecture. New York: T.Y. Crowell 1895.
LOCATION: Special Collections NA 7120 .G4
A girl's room. With plans and designs for work upstairs and down and entertainments
for herself and friends. Boston, D. Lothrop and company, c1886.
LOCATION: Special Collections GV1201 .G5
Henry Bosch Company.
Wall papers. New York: The Company, 1917.
LOCATION: Special Collections folio+ Trade Catalog
H.W. Johns Manufacturing Co.
Artistic house painting. New York: The Company, c1895.
LOCATION: Special Collections Trade Catalog
Jones, Owen, 1809-1874.
The grammar of ornament. London: Day and Son, 1856.
LOCATION: Special Collections folio+ NK1510 .J7 1856
Morris, William, 1834-1896.
The wood beyond the world. Hammersmith: Kelmscott Press, 1894.
LOCATION: Special Collections PR5079 .W6 1894
Picture Scrapbook. Circa 1870-1880.
LOCATION: Special Collections Scrapbook Collection, #35.
The manual of the Guild and School of Handicraft: being a guide to county
councils and technical teachers; ed. by C.R. Ashbee. London: Cassell &
Co., Ltd., 1892.
LOCATION: Special Collections NK1142 .M36 1892
Sears, Roebuck and Company.
Wall paper for every home. Chicago: The Company, 1916.
LOCATION: Special Collections Trade Catalog
Sears, Roebuck and Company.
Catalog. Philadelphia: Sears, Roebuck and Company.
LOCATION: Special Collections Trade Catalog
Spofford, Harriet Elizabeth Prescott, 1835-1921.
Art decoration applied to furniture. New York: Harper, 1878.
LOCATION: Special Collections NK2230 .S8
Stickley, Gustav, 1858-1942.
Craftsman homes. New York City, The Craftsman Publishing Company, c1909.
LOCATION: Special Collections NA7110 .S85
Nutting, Wallace, 1861-1941.
Wallace Nutting furniture catalog. Framingham, Mass.: Wallace Nutting,
1937.
LOCATION: Special Collections Trade Catalog
Wallace Nutting, Inc.
Wallace Nutting pictures: expansible catalog. Framingham, Mass.: Wallace
Nutting, inc., c1915.
LOCATION: Special Collections Trade Catalog
Wilde, Oscar, 1854-1900.
Salome: a tragedy in one act translated from the French of Oscar Wilde;
with sixteen drawings by Aubrey Beardsley. London; New York: J. Lane, 1912.
LOCATION: Special Collections PR5820 .S2x 1912