University of Delaware Library
Bookmark and Share

Research Guides, Subject Guides & Selected Bibliographies

Research Guides provide access to Special Collections resources organized by subject. They point to collections, ephemera, research strategies, and more. Special Collections has six research guides:

  1. Introduction to Special Collections
  2. Book Arts in Special Collections
  3. History and Delawareana in Special Collections
  4. Primary Sources in The Arts in Special Collections
  5. Primary Sources for Literature in Special Collections
  6. Primary Sources in Science and Technology in Special Collections

In addition to the guides listed below, researchers may want to consider the variety of subjects presented in the Library's online exhibitions. Many of the detailed finding aids to manuscripts, visual materials, and other collections are available on this Website, and access to bibliographic descriptions of printed collections is available through the Library's online catalog, DELCAT.

Subject Guides & Selected Bibliographies

These subject guides and selected bibliographies have been prepared by Special Collections librarians to suggest primary sources in the University of Delaware Library which are available to support a variety of research topics. A number of these selective bibliographies were prepared at the request of faculty for specifically focused classes.

Subject list

  1. African American Sources
  2. America to 1860
  3. American History
  4. American Literature: Selections for ENGL 267-014
  5. American Literature to 1865
  6. American Literature: 1861 - 1945
  7. American Literature: 1861 - 1945 [Introducing Primary Sources]
  8. Architecture
  9. Art History
  10. Artists Books
  11. Biology 467: Epidemics and Plagues
  12. Book Arts: Google Site for Art 309
  13. Book Structures
  14. Bookplates
  15. British Renaissance
  16. Commonplace Books
  17. Early Modern Philosophy: Selected Primary Sources
  18. Etiquette
  19. Historic Cooking Resources
  20. History Post-1880
  21. History 411: Do-It-Yourself America
  22. History 411/611: Writing History through Material Culture
  23. Interior design, 1850-1900
  24. Irish Literature
  25. Irish Literature: Twentieth-century Drama
  26. Jefferson letter discovered in Rockwood Archives
  27. Letterpress and Bookbinding
  28. Literary Manuscripts [Secondary Readings]
  29. Literary Research Methods 2006
  30. Literature and Letters: Public and Private Productions
  31. Manuscripts and Early Printed Books: Selected Primary Sources
  32. Maps
  33. Maritime Journals and Ships' Logs
  34. Medieval Literature and Its Influences
  35. Medieval-Renaissance Colloquium: Early Modern Movement and Motion
  36. Medieval-Renaissance Colloquium: Economies
  37. Medieval-Renaissance Colloquium: Space
  38. New Castle County, Delaware
  39. Newark, Delaware
  40. Oral Histories
  41. Performing Arts
  42. Philadelphia
  43. Politics and Government, Domestic and Foreign
  44. Postcards
  45. Printing and the Bookarts
  46. Reading in America, 1800-2000
  47. Science Fiction
  48. Shakespeare Through the Ages
  49. Southern Literature
  50. University of Delaware
  51. Visual Communications Process II
  52. Women's Literary Papers and Manuscripts

This page is maintained by Special Collections.
12/21/11

  • UD Library Special Collections  •   181 South College Avenue  •   Newark, DE 19717-5267  •   USA
    Phone: USA +1 302-831-2229  •   ©2014