The University of Delaware Library

Special Collections Department


Hist411
Do It Yourself America

Selected Primary Resources
October 9, 2006

Iris Snyder


This bibliography focuses on nineteenth- and early twentieth- century how-to-do-it-books for tradesmen, apprentices and other working people.

American Soda Fountain Company.
American soda book of receipts and suggestions, containing about 1000 choice formulas for making soda, water syrups and fancy drinks; together with valuable hints on installing and operating a successful soda fountain. Boston: American Soda Fountain Company [190- ]
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections TP635 .A6 1900z

Ames, Daniel T.
Ames compendium of practical and ornamental penmanship, giving more than 20 entire alphabets with numerous designs for engrossed resolutions, testimonials, certificates, title-pages, monograms, miscellaneous designs, &c. New York: D. T. Ames, 1883.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Folio Z43 .A55 1883

B.F. Norris, Alister & Co.
Standard annual price list and trade catalogue of best quality watchmakers' and jewelers' tools, materials ... drawing instruments, optical goods, kodaks and photographers' supplies ... Chicago: J. C. Winship, 1896.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Trade Catalog

Booth, Mary L. (Mary Louise), 1831-1889.
New and complete clock and watchmakers' manual ... Comp. from the French. With an appendix containing a history of clock and watchmaking in America. New York: J. Wiley, 1877.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections TS545 .B72 1877

Bridges, Mary Monica Waterhouse.
A new handwriting for teachers. Oxford: Printed at the University Press, 1899.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Z43 .B85 1899

Burke, John French.
Farming for ladies, or, A guide to the poultry-yard, the dairy and piggery / by the author of British husbandry. London: J. Murray, 1844.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections SF71 .B87x 1844

Byrne, Oliver.
The practical metal-worker's assistant : containing the arts of working all metals and alloys, forging of iron and steel, hardening and tempering... with the application of the art of electro-metallurgy to manufacturing processes
. Philadelphia: Henry Carey Baird, 1851.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Library Annex Special Collections Use Only TS205 .B8 1851 Non-Circulating

Co-operative Architects, New York.
How to build, furnish and decorate. Consisting of elevations and plans for houses, barns, and every description of outbuilding, accompanied with clear and concise instructions; also, a complete treatise on house furnishing and decoration. Six hundred and fifty illustrations. New York: The Co-operative Building Plan Association, c1883.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Folio NA7130 .C8 1883

Dennison Manufacturing Company.
How to decorate halls, booths and automobiles. [Framingham, Mass.] Dennison Manufacturing Co., c1923.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections TS1210 .D53

Gardner, Franklin B.
How to paint. A complete compendium of the art. Designed for the use of the tradesman, mechanic, merchant, and farmer, and to guide the professional painter ... By F. B. Gardner ...New York: Published by Fowler & Wells, 1882.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections TT305 .G2 1882

Goldsberry, Doran & Nelson.
The national garment cutter book of diagrams. Chicago: Goldsberry, Doran & Nelson, c1890.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections folio+ TT520 .G65x 1890

Guide to Williams & Packard's system of penmanship for teachers and adepts. New York: Slote, Woodman & co., 1869.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Z43 .G84

Hale, Sarah Josepha Buell, 1788-1879.
The workwoman's guide : containing instructions to the inexperienced in cutting out and completing those articles of wearing apparel, &c. which are usually made at home : also, explanations on upholstery, straw-platting, bonnet-making, knitting, &c. / by a lady. London: Simpkin, Marshall and Co., 1838
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections TT705 .H35x 1838

Hall, Samuel Read, 1795-1877.
Lectures to female teachers on school-keeping. Boston: Richardson, Lord & Holbrook, 1832.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections LB1025 .H219

Jacques, D. H. (Daniel Harrison), 1825-1877.
The house: a pocket manual of rural architecture: or, How to build country houses and out-buildings ... With numerous original plans, designed by F. E. Graef ... and others. By the author of "The garden", "The farm", etc. ... New York: Fowler and Wells, 1859.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections NA7561 .J2 1859

James, M. E.
How to decorate our ceilings, walls, and floors ; with diagrams and coloured illustrations from designs by the author. London: George Bell, 1883.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections NK1510 .J3272

Miles, William, of Exeter.
On horseshoeing. Boston: J.H. Eastburn's Press, 1858.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Horticulture S74 .M45

Millar, Andrew.
Scumbling & colour glazing : a practical handbook for house painters, coach painters and others / by Andrew Millar. London: The Trade Papers Pub. Co., Ltd. ; New York : "The Painters' Magazine", 1909.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections TT305 .M62 1909

The painter, gilder, and varnisher's companion : containing rules and regulations in every thing relating to the arts of painting, gilding, varnishing, and glass-staining ...
Philadelphia: H. C. Baird, 1861.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections TT305 .P134 1861

Palliser, Palliser & Co., Firm, Architects, New York.
Palliser's model homes. Showing a variety of designs for model dwellings. New York: Palliser, [c1883]
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections NA7127 .P25 1883

Potter, Alonzo, 1800-1865.
The school and the schoolmaster. A manual for the use of teachers, employers, trustees, inspectors, &c., &c., of common schools. In two parts. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1842.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections LB1025 .P85

Specimens of needle work executed in the school of Great Cressingham. Swaffham: John S. Gowing, 1845.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections In Process

Wilme, B. P. (Benjamin P.)
A manual of writing and printing characters : both ancient and modern, for the use of architects, engineers and surveyors, engravers, printers, decorators, and draughtsmen ... / London : Pub. for the author, by John Weale, 1845.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Z43 .W745x 1845

The woman's book, dealing practically with the modern conditions of home-life, self-support, education, opportunities, and every-day problems. New York: Charles Scribner's sons, 1894.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections HQ1221 .W8

Zaner, Charles Paxton.
Zaner method writing arm movement: manual 144. Columbus, Ohio: Zaner & Bloser, c1915.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Z43 .Z35


Return to list of Selected Primary Resources and Bibliographies

Backgrounds for Special Collections' web pages are adapted from paper samples
from our extensive holdings related to printing and the books arts.

Back to the UD Special Collections Home Page

This page is maintained by Special Collections
Last modified: 10/06/06