American Literature: 1861 - 1945
An Introduction to Primary Resources
Prof. Susan Goodman | English Department | Winter 2006
for reference assistance email Special Collections
Special Collections, University of Delaware Library
Newark, Delaware 19717-5267
Selected Collections Shown in Class
MSS 099 F571 Ferber, Edna, letters to Flora May Holly, 1911 - 1941 (6 items)
MSS 100 Louis Henry and Marguerite Cohn Hemingway Collection, 1918 - 1983 (bulk dates 1925 - 1965); ca. 10.5 linear ft.
Content: Correspondence, photographs, bookplates, art work, articles and ephemera.
MSS 110 Archive of Pagany, 1925 - 1970 (bulk dates 1929 - 1933); 5.5 linear ft.
Content: Correspondence, poetry, essays, periodicals, novels, stories, announcements, checks, clippings, lists, birth certificates, advertisements, and timetables.
MSS 111 Louis Untermeyer Papers, 1902 - 1972 (bulk dates 1912 - 1935); 5 linear ft.
Content: Correspondence, galley proofs, scrapbooks, photographs, announcements, clippings, lectures, anthologies, poems, reviews (criticism), programs, essays, notes, lists, and bookplates.
MSS 113 Alice Dunbar-Nelson Papers, 1895-1942; 7.8 linear ft. and 120 volumes .
Contents: correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, manuscripts, periodicals, clippings, photographs, organizational papers, theatrical and literary ephemera, family documents and memorbilia
MSS 121 Robert Underwood Johnson Collection, 1879 - 1931; 2 linear feet.
Content: Correspondence, manuscripts, notebooks, appointment books, articles, calling cards, clippings, galley proofs, invitations, notes, receipts, telegrams, postcards, photographs, printed material, souvenirs, addresses, essays, copyright registrations, and ephemera.
MSS 142 Sara Teasdale. Letters to Joyce and Aline Kilmer, 1912 - 1932; .2 linear ft. (58 items)
Content: Letters, poems, and photograph.
MSS 174 McClure Publishing Company Archives, 1878 -1952; 1 linear ft.
Content: Correspondence, clippings, interviews, notes, photographs, manuscripts, financial and legal documents.
MSS 250 Dodd, Mead & Company Archive, 1896 - 1974; 2 linear ft.
Content: Correspondence, contracts, photographs, wills and probate documents, biographies permission files, drafts, copyright documents, poems, printed programs and ephemera, clippings, and notes.
MSS 269 Ernest Hemingway Collection, 1938 - 2001; 1 linear ft.
Contents: Magazines, lobby cards, posters, ephemera, newspapers, and sound recordings.
MSS 296 George Alfred Townsend Collection, 1865 - 1975 (bulk dates 1865-1898); .3 linear ft.
Content: Letters, clippings, bookplates, essays, book reviews, brochures, and short stories.
MSS 391 Charles Humberd Dime Novel Collection, 1938 - 1946; .1 linear ft (70 items).
Content: Correspondence, advertising, bibliography, periodicals.
MSS 415 George Alfred Townsend Correspondence, 1862 - 1912; .3 linear ft.
Content: Letters, photographs, and ephemera.Top of page
Online exhibition: Ernest Hemingway in His Time
Subject Guide: Reading in America, 1800 - 2000Top of page