University of Delaware Library
Bookmark and Share

Etiquette

Selected Primary Resources

for reference assistance email Special Collections

or contact:
Special Collections, University of Delaware Library
Newark, Delaware 19717-5267
(302) 831-2229




These selected titles are a sample of books on etiquette available in Special Collections. The Library's printed holdings are cataloged in the Library of Congress Classification System, and may be searched in the Library's online catalog, DELCAT.

The following subject categories suggest useful research strategies for finding information about etiquette.

Subject Access Terms:





The American Chesterfield or Way to Wealth, Honour and Distinction. Philadelphia: Published by John Grigg, 1828.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 1855 .A6 1828)

American Code of Manners. New York: W. R. Andrews, 1880.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 1852 .A52 1880)


Arthur, T. S. (Timothy Shay), 1809-1885.

Advice to young Men on their duties and conduct in life. Boston: Phillips, Sampson, 1855.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (PS 1039 .A77 A65 1855)


Baker, George Augustus, 1849-1906.

The Bad Habits of Good Society. New York: R. Worthington, 1878.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 1852 .B2)


A Book of good manners: for girls and boys. Providence, [R.I.] : Daniels, 1845.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (PS 991 .A1 B65 1845)


Buel, James William.

Buel's Manual of Self Help. Philadelphia: People's Pub. Co., c1894.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (Z 1033 .A35 1894f )


Chenery Manufacturing Co.

Descriptive list of ladies' shirt waists, wrappers and suits. Portland, Me.: The Company, 1898.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (Trade Catalog)


Godey's magazine. New York: The Godey company, 1830-98.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (AP 2 .G64)


Goodrich, Samuel G. (Samuel Griswold), 1793-1860.

What to do and how to do it; or Morals and Manners Taught by Examples. New York: Wiley & Putnam, 1844.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 1631 .G6 1844)


Green, Edward S.

National capital code of etiquette. Washington: A. Jenkins Co., 1920.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (Z 1033 .S35 1920)


Harper's weekly: a journal of civilization. New York: Harper and brothers.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (AP 2 .H374)


Hoole, Samuel

Modern manners: in a series of familiar epistles. London: Printed for R. Faulder, in New-Bond Street, 1781.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (PR 4803 .H334 M64 1781)


Leslie, Eliza.

Ladies' guide to true politeness and perfect manners. Philadelphia: B. Peterson [1864].

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 1856 .L47 1864)


A little pretty pocket-book: intended for the instruction and amusement of little Master Tommy, and pretty Miss Polly. Printed at Worcester, Massachusetts by Isaiah Thomas, and sold, wholesale and retail, at his bookstore, 1787.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (PZ 372.4 .L778)


Lord & Taylor.

Catalogue of silks, dress goods, cloths, millinery ribbons..., New York: The Company, 1879.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (Trade Catalog)


Maberly, Mrs., 1805-1875.

The art of conversation with remarks on fashion and address: together with general rules to be observed in intercourse with society. New York: Wilson & Co. Brother Jonathan Press, 1845.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 2121 .M32 1845)


A Manual of Politeness: comprising the principles of etiquette, and rules of behaviour.... Philadelphia: W. Marshall & Co., 1837.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 1852 .M28x 1837)


Martin, Judith.

Miss Manners' Guide for the Turn-of-the-Millennium. New York: Pharos Books, c1989.

LOCATION: Morris Library (BJ 1853 M295 1989)


Post, Peggy.

Emily Post's Etiquette. New York, NY : Harper Collins Publishers, c1997.

LOCATION: Morris Library (BJ 1853 P6 1997)


Chesterfield, Philip Dormer Stanhope, Earl of, 1694-1773.

Principles of Politeness, and of knowing the world. Portsmouth, N.H., Printed by Melcher and Osborne, 1786.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 1671 .C56 1786)


Thornwell, Emily.

The Lady's Guide to Perfect Gentility... New York, Derby & Jackson, 1857.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 1856 .T5)


Decorum: A Practical Treatise on Etiquette and Dress of the Best American Society. New York: J.A. Ruth, 1879.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (Z 1033 .S35 1879c)


Samples from European Card emporium. Birmingham, Conn.: 1850.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (NC 1864 .E8 1850z)


John Wanamaker.

Wanamaker's goods & prices: fall and winter, 1895-'96. Philadelphia: the Company, 1986.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (Trade Catalog)


Wells, Samuel R. (Samuel Roberts), 1820-1875.

How to Behave: A Pocket Manual of Republican Etiquette. New York, Boston: Fowler and Wells, 1857.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 1852 .W5)


The Young Man's Own Book: A Manual of Politeness. Philadelphia: Desilver, Thomas, 1835.

LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (BJ 1671 .Y7 1835)


Top of page


This page is maintained by Special Collections.
12/14/10

  • UD Library Special Collections  •   181 South College Avenue  •   Newark, DE 19717-5267  •   USA
    Phone: USA +1 302-831-2229  •   ©2014