The University of Delaware Library

Special Collections Department


Medieval-Renaissance Colloquium
University of Delaware English Department
ECONOMIES

Selected Primary Resources
December 3, 2007

Jesse Rossa | Iris Snyder


This bibliography is focused on books from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries which relate thematically to the topic of economies. This includes a broad range of material including agriculture, travel and exploration, maps, and engineering.


Scriptores rei rusticae.
Libri de re rvstica… [Colophon: Venetiis in aedibvs Aldi, et Andreae soceri mense maio M.D.XIIII]
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Horticulture PA6139 .R8 1514

Koch vnd Kellerei von allenn Speisen vnd Geträncken. Zu Franckfurt am Meyn: Bei Christian Egenolff, Im Jenner, anno 1537.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections R 128.6 .K85

Biringucci, Vannoccio, 1480-1539?
La pyrotechnie. A Paris: Chez Claude Fremy, 1572.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Unidel TN144 .B5 F1572

Gesner, Konrad, 1516-1565.
The newe iewell of health: wherein is contayned the most excellent secretes of phisicke and philosophie. [London]: Printed at London by Henrie Denham, 1576.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections R 128.6 .G44 1576

Besson, Jacques, Dauphinois.
Theatrvm instrvmentorvm et machinarum Iacobi Bessoni ... Lvgdvni: Apud Barth. Vincentium, 1578.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections FOLIO TJ144 B495

Acosta, Cristóbal, ca. 1515-ca. 1592.
Trattato di Christoforo Acosta Africano ... della historia, natvra, et virtv delle droghe medicinali: & altri semplici rarissime, che vengono portati dalle Indie Orientali in Europa...Venetia: Ziletti, 1585.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Horticulture SB91 .A2 C684 1585

Mascall, Leonard, d. 1589.
A profitable booke declaring dyuers approoued remedies, to take out spottes and staines, in silkes, veluets, linnen and woollen clothes. Imprinted at London: By Thomas Purfoote, 1588.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections T44 .M37x 1588

Ramelli, Agostino, 1531-ca. 1600.
Le diverse et artificiose machine. Parigi: [s.n.], 1588.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Folio TJ144 .R3 Non-Circulating

Ortelius, Abraham, 1527-1598.
Epitome Theatri Orteliani. [Antwerpiae, hac 26. Maij, Anno M.D.LXXXIX. M.H.B.] [i.e. 1589].
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections G1006 .E78

Lewkenor, Samuel.
A discovrse not altogether vnprofitable, nor vnpleasant for such as are desirous to know the situation and customs of forraine cities without trauelling to see them.
London : Imprinted by I. W[indet] for Humpfrey Hooper..., 1600.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections LA 627 .L4 1600

Hill, Thomas, b. ca. 1528.
The arte of gardening. London: Imprinted by Edward Allde, 1608.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Horticulture SB453.3 .G7 H48 1608

Estienne, Charles, 1504-ca. 1564.
Maison rustique, or, The countrey farme. London: Adam Islip for John Bill, 1616.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Horticulture folio SB91 .A2 E87 1616

Markham, Gervase, 1568?-1637.
Cheape and good husbandry for the well-ordering of all beasts, and fowles, and for the generall cure of their diseases. London: Printed by Nicholas Okes for John Harison, 1631.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Horticulture SB91 .A2 M358 1631

Mercator, Gerhard, 1512-1594.
Atlas novus, sive, descriptio geographica totius orbis. Amstelodami: Apud Henricum Hondium & Joannem Jansonium, 1638.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections folio+ G 1007 .A7 1638

Solís, Antonio de, 1610-1686.
The history of the conquest of Mexico by the Spaniards. Done into English from the original Spanish of Don Antonio de Solis ... London: Printed for T. Woodward ..., J. Hooke ..., and J. Peele ..., 1724.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections Folio F1230 .S697

Original leaves from famous European books. London: Folio Society, circa 1930.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections folio+ Z250 .A1 O752x 1900z



Return to list of Selected Primary Resources and Bibliographies

Backgrounds for Special Collections' web pages are adapted from paper samples
from our extensive holdings related to printing and the books arts.

Back to the UD Special Collections Home Page

This page is maintained by Special Collections
Last modified: 12/04/07