University of Delaware Library
Bookmark and Share

Manuscripts and Early Printed Books:
Selected Primary Sources

for reference assistance email Special Collections

or contact:
Special Collections, University of Delaware Library
Newark, Delaware 19717-5267
(302) 831-2229





Introduction

The Special Collections Department of the University of Delaware Library houses a wealth of material related to manuscript texts and the birth and growth of printing. The manuscript collections include several early modern alchemical manuals and, most notably, an illuminated Book of Hours composed on vellum in fifteenth century France. The print collection houses several examples of incunabula, books printed during the so-called infancy of printing (1450-1501), many of which document the early printed book’s initial attempt to mimic handwritten script. The collection is especially strong in works of early English literature and in works of early modern science and technology.

These collections also provide valuable opportunities for the study of the book as physical object. Many of the early printed books in the collection are in contemporary or near-contemporary bindings, although later examples of rebinding are also present. There are numerous examples of the printed arts, including typography and engraved illustrations. The collections also exhibit many post-publication additions such as marginalia and provenance inscriptions, which allow one to examine the book as an artifact which has been used, altered and personalized over the centuries.

Top of page


Manuscripts

MSS 095 Item 15 [Medical, alchemical, and craft materials recipes, 15th and 16th centuries.], 1 vol. ([61] leaves).
Variant title: Incipit: Per auer lvno pri[n]cipio çio in uaino prima q[ue]la beatistima e splendida luce

Remedies for various ills chiefly using wine; recipes for pills, for purifying metals; recipes and instructions for making colors for painting, enameling. Additional remedies in a 16th century hand, for inflamed testicles, menstrual distress, toothache, headache, leprosy, and recipes for birth control and various hair dyes.

Written in brown ink on vellum leaves; red and blue rubrication; in two different hands; ruled. Some marginalia, including multiple signatures of Dom[ina] Maria Barbani di Corticelle, one dated Oct. 1506. Bound in vellum, one tie remaining. Accompanied by a dealer’s description in German.


MSS 095 Item 17 Augustinis, civis Veneti. Incipiunt secreta d. Augustinis, civis Veneti ad joannem filium [ca. 15-- ?], 1 vol. (102, [8] leaves).

Latin Alchemical Manuscript

Written in black ink on paper; unruled. Bound in vellum over boards; early printed waste paper visible through endpapers.


MSS 095 Item 22 Artephius. Liber segreto di Artefio, filosofo Arabo … [post- 1685], 1 vol. (310, [i.e., 410] p).

Italian translation of an alchemical text, Artefii Arabis philosophi liber secretus : nec non [?] Trismegisti, siue Fratris Heliae de Assisio libellus … (Frankfurt : Iennisium, 1685). Written in black ink on paper; unruled; some illustrations. Bound in paper over boards.


MSS 095 Item 23 Opus magni philosophia opus. [ca. 16--?], 1 vol. ([32] leaves).

Latin alchemical manuscript.

Written in black ink on paper; extensive illustrations; bound in vellum over boards.


MSS 095 Item 31 [Book of hours] : [Use of Noyon]. [Amiens?, 15--], 1 vol. (130 leaves).

Written in 20 long lines; ruled in red ink with double upper horizontal bounding lines; prickings in outer margins; some vertical catchwords.

Decorated with 10 large miniatures with full borders on brown or liquid gold grounds, with foliage, bird and animal motifs; illuminated initials, executed by two artists.

Rebound in 19th century deep brown morocco over boards; gilt stamped on verso of covers;  binding by Hans Asper; with working metal clasp and fitted case.

Ownership inscriptions dated 1615, 1657.


Top of page


Incunabula

Gesta Romanorum.

[Gesta Rhomanorum : cu[m] applicationib[us] moralisatis ac misticis]. ([Strasbourg : George Husner], M.cccclxxxix, in die sancti Sixti … [6 Aug. 1489]).

With rubrication in red, blue and yellow ink; marginalia in contemporary hand; rebound in paper over boards.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (26 cm) PA8320 1489


Jacobus, de Voragine.

[The lyfe of Saynt Poule the heremyte. (London: Imprynted by W. de Worde, 1527)].

Two leaves from a disbound copy of The lyfe of Saynt Poule the heremyte; illustrated with woodcuts.

Printed by Wynkyn de Worde, associate of and successor to William Caxton, the first English printer.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) BX4654 .J33132x 1527


Joannes, de Sancto-Geminiano.

Summa de exemplis ac similitudinibus rerum. (Impressum aũt Venctijs : Per Joānē & Gregorium de Gregorijs fratres, 1497, die 10 Aprilis).

Bound in blind-stamped leather over boards.

With printed woodcut initials and one rubricated intial; manuscript marginalia.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (20 cm) AE2 J635 1497


A noble fragment, being a leaf of the Gutenberg Bible, 1450-1455. (New York : Gabriel Wells, 1921 ; [Mainz : Johann Gutenberg, ca. 1454-1455]).

A leaf from a disbound Gutenberg Bible; library’s copy has Luke 7:41-8:42.

Rubricated in red and blue ink; the 1921 portion is inscribed by the editor.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio +) Z241 .B58 1454-55


Origen.

Contra Celsum et in fidei Christianae defensionem libri. ([Rome, Italy] : Magister uero Georgius Herolt de Bamberga Romae impressit, [1481], mense).

Bound in vellum over boards.

With large blank spaces for initials; manuscript marginalia and doodles.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) BT1116 O6 1481


Poliziano, Angelo.

Omnia opera Angeli Politiani, et alia quaedam lectu digna, quorum nomina in sequenti indice uidere licet. (Venetiis : In aedibus Aldi Romani, mense Iulio, 1498.)

Bound in a manuscript song-book over boards.

With blank spaces for initials; with marginal manuscript annotations on some leaves.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (26 cm) PA8560 1498


Tibullus.

Tibullus cum commentariis Cyllaenii Veronensis. Catullus cum commentariis Parthenii Veronensis & Paladii Patauini; emendationes Catullianae per Hieronymum Auancium Veronensem & eiusdem in Priapeias castigationes. Propertius cum commentariis Phylippi Beroaldi; annotationes in Propertium, tum per Domitium Calderinuum, tum per Ioannem Cottam Veronensem / haec omnia sunt ex exe[m]plaribus emendatis Domini Hieronymi Aua[n]cii. ([Venice]: Impressum Venetiis per Ioannem de Tridino de Cereto alias Tacuinum, 1500 dieuero xix Maii regnante inclyto Principe Augustino Barbadico.)

Half-bound in wood boards and blind-stamped pig-skin over boards; with metal clasps.

With printed initials; marginal manuscript annotations in a contemporary hand; holograph poem on rear-endpaper.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio+) PA6274 A2 1500


Top of page


Manuscripts as Binders’ Waste

Bruto, Giovanni Michele.

Ioannis Michaelis Brvti Florentianae historiae libri octo [priores] cum indice locupletissimo. (Lvgdvni: apud haeredes I. Iuntae, 1562.)

Bound in limp vellum; Latin manuscript used as binder’s waste in text block (visible due to damage to spine).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (26 cm) DG737.5 B78


Paracelsus.

Avr. Philip. Theoph. Paracelsi Bombast ab Hohenheim … Opera omnia, medico-chemico-chirvrgica : tribvs volvminibvs comprehensa. (Genevæ : Sumptibus Ioan. Antonij, & Samuelis De Tournes, 1658.)

Bound in a Hebrew manuscript on vellum.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS UNIDEL (Folio) R128.6 .P3 1616


Paracelsus.

Liber vexationum D. Phil. Theophrasti Paracelsi, Kunst und Natur der Alchimia und was darauff zü halten sey, durch siben gegründte Regeln gegen den siben gemeinen  Metallen zügericht : sampt einer Vorred mit etlichen zügehörenden Stucken und Beschlüssen abgefertiget. [S.l.: s.n., 1567].

Bound with: Dess erfarnesten Fürsten aller Artzeten Aureoli Theophrasti Paracelsi Von  ersten dreyen Principijs, was jre Formen und Wirckung … / publicirt durch Adam von Bodenstein medicum und philosophorum. [Basel : s.n., 1563].

Bound with: Das Bůch Paragranvm Avreoli Theophrasti Paracelsi … / alles new publicirt, durch Doctorem Adamum von Bodenstein. (Franck. : Bey Chri. Egen. Erben, 1565.)

Bound in an illuminated manuscript on vellum (the text is heavily faded in places); extensive handwritten marginalia throughout.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Unidel 18cm) R128.6 .P228x 1563


Basilius Valentinus.

Triumph Wagen Antimonii. (Leipzig: In Verlegung Jacob Apels, 1604.)

Bound in a Latin manuscript; another manuscript, in a different hand, is visible in the text block.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Unidel 18 cm) R128.6 B42 1604


Weber, Johann Adam.

Discursus curiosi & fructuosi ad praecipuas totius litteraturae humanae scientias illustrandas accommodati : opus tam lectu sucundum, quam fructu foecundum :  in quo de macrocosmo & microcosm sive de magno et parvo mundo […]. (Salisburgi: Typis & Impensis Joan. Bapt. Mayer, Typographi Aulico-Academici, 1673).

Bound in a Latin manuscript; provenance inscriptions on title page and front free endpaper; ownership inscription dated 1702.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (18 cm) AE4 .W42X 1673


Top of page


Religion and The Bible

[Bible. English. Authorized. 1611]. The Holy Bible : conteyning the Old Testament, and the New : newly translated out of the originall tongues : & with the former translations diligently compared and reuised, by His Maiesties speciall comandement : appointed to be read in churches.  (Imprinted at London : By Robert Barker, printer to the Kings most Excellent Maiestie, Anno Dom. 1613.)

The King James Version.

Bound in contemporary calf over boards; spine rebacked; covers blind tooled.

Engraved title page, maps and genealogies.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio+) BS185 1613 L6


[Bible. German. Luther. 1616.] Biblia, das ist, die gantz heylige Schrifft / Teutsch. Doct. Mart. Luther ; jetz undt von newem, nach der letzen edition … (Gedruckt zu Franckfurt am Mayne : Durch Erasmum Kempffern, in Verlegung Vincentij Steinmeyers, im Jahr 1616.)

Martin Luther’s German translation.

Engraved and hand colored title page; engraved illustrations.

Bound in contemporary pigskin over boards; covers blind stamped; engraved metal clasps.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) BS239 1616


[Bible. Latin. Vulgate. 1516]. Biblia cu[m] co[n]cordantijs veteris [et] noui testame[n]ti [et] sacroru[m] canonum : necno[n] & additionibus in marginibus varietatis diuerso[rum] textuu[m] : ac etia[m] canonib[us] antiq[uis quatuor eua[n]geliorum : nouissime autem addite sunt [con]cordantie ex viginiti libris Josephi de antiquitatibus [et] bello iudaico excerpte. (Impressa autem Lugduni: Per M. Jacobum Sacon, expensis notabilis viri Antonij Koberger Nuremburgensis, Anno nostra salutis 1516.)

Engraved title page; woodcut illustrations.

Bound in contemporary pigskin over boards; blind stamped covers; ownership inscriptions on front endpapers and title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) BS75 1516


[Bible. N.T. English. 1582. Rheims.] The Nevv Testament of Iesvs Christ : translated faithfvlly into English out of the authentical Latin, according to the best corrected copies of the same, diligently conferred vvith the Greeke and other editions in diuers languages / vvith argvments of bookes and chapters, annotations, and other necessarie helpes, for the better vnderstanding of the text, and specially for the discouerie of the corrvptions of diuers late translations, and for cleering the controversies in religion, of these daies ; in the English College of Rhemes. (Printed at Rhemes: by Iohn Fogny, 1582).

Translated from the Vulgate by Gregory Martin, under the supervision of William Allen and Richard Bristow. With the Old Testament published at Douai in 1609-10 (under title: The Holie Bible faithfvlly translated into English ovt of the avthentical Latin) it forms the first edition of the Catholic version commonly called the Douai Bible.

Engraved title page; woodcut initials.

Rebound in black leather over boards; gilt-stamped; housed in a brown leather pull-off box.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (22 cm) BS2080 1582


[Bible. N.T. Greek. 1571]. Nouum Testamentum Iesu Christi, Graece et Latinè / primò quidem studio & industria Des. Erasmi Roter. accuratè editum, nunc autem magna diligentia collatis compluribus exemplaribus denuò expressum ; adiectis argumentis cum concordantijs in margine, & quadam adiuncta separatim utili tam explicatione uocabulorum quorundam, quàm demonstratione certorum ad intelligentiam ueritatis pertinentium locorum. (Basileae: Per haeredes Nicolai Bryling, 1571).Desidirius Erasmus’ collation and publication of the Greek New Testament, which he subsequently translated into Latin.

Parallel Latin and Greek text.

Bound in contemporary pigskin over boards; blind stamped; remnants of metal clasps; ownership inscriptions dated 1579, 1600, 1617; handwritten marginalia throughout.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (18 cm) BS1990 1571


Certaine sermons or homilies appointed to be read in chvrches, in the time of the late Queene Elizabeth of famous memory. And now thought fit to bee reprinted by authority from the Kings most excellent Maiestie. (London: Printed by Iohn Bill, printer to the Kings most excellent Maiestie, 1623.)

Bound in contemporary calf over boards; blind and gilt stamped; remnants of metal clasps.

Engraved title page.

Ownership inscription of the Parish of Eton; other inscriptions, partially erased.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) BX5133 A1 A3 1623


Del Rio, Martin Antoine.

Disquisitionum magicarum libri sex : quibus continetur’accurata curiosarum artium, & vanarum superstitionum confutatio, utilis theologis, jurisconsultis, medicis, philologis. (Lugduni: H. Cardon, 1612)

A witch hunter’s manual.

Bound in vellum and paper over boards; engraved title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Unidel Folio) BF1600 .D5 1612


Donne, John.

Biathanatos : a declaration of that paradox, or thesis, that self-homicide is not so naturally sin, that it may never be otherwise : wherein the nature, and the extent of all those laws, which seem to be violated by this act, are diligently surveyed. [2nd ed.] (London : [s.n.], printed in the year 1700).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (20 cm) PR2247 B52 1700


Eikon basilike.

The povrtraictvre of His Sacred Maiestie in his solitvdes and svfferings. ([London? s.n.] 1648.)

A purported spiritual autobiography of Charles I. Attributed to Charles I; also to John Gauden.

Bound in contemporary calf over boards; engraved fold-out illustration; ownership inscription of Ben Thornburgh, dated 1649.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (18 cm) DA400 .C49 E3


Foxe, John.

Acts and monuments of matters most special and memorable, happening in the church : with an universal history of the same : wherein is set forth at large, the whole race and course of the church, from the primitive age to these later times of ours, with the bloody times, horrible troubles, and great persecutions against the true martyrs of Christ. 9th ed. (London : Printed for the Company of Stationers, 1684).

With printed illustrations.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) BR1607 .F5 1684
Copy 1: Volume 2; bound in contemporary calf.
Copy 2: Volumes 1 – 3; rebound in black cloth over boards.


Tyndale, William.

The whole workes of W. Tyndall, Iohn Frith, and Doct. Barnes : three worthy martyrs and principall teachers of this Churche of England / collected and compiled in one tome togither … (London : Printed by Iohn Daye, 1573)

Rebound in calf and marbled paper over boards.

Engraved title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) BR304 .T95


Verstegan, Richard.

Theatrum crudelitatum haereticorum nostri temporis. (Antuerpiae : Apud Adrianum Huberti, anno MDLXXXVII [1587]).

Bound in paper; hand drawn decorative border on corders.

Printed illustrations, attributed to Jeronimus Wierix; alternately attributed to Verstegan.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (28 cm) BR1605 V47 1587


Verstegan, Richard.

Theatre des cruautez des hereticques de nostre temps : traduit du Latin en François. (En Anvers : chez Adrien Hubert, 1588).

Printed illustrations, attributed to Jeronimus Wierix; alternately attributed to Verstegan.

Bound in contemporary calf over boards; gilt stamped; ownership inscriptions and notes in contemporary hand on front endpapers.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (22 cm) BR1605 .V47x 1588


Top of page


Literature

Beaumont, Francis and John Flethcer.

Comedies and Tragedies. Written by Francis Beavmont and Iohn Fletcher, Gentlemen. Never printed before, And now published by the Authours Orginall Copies. (London: Printed for Humphrey Robinson, at the three Pidgeons, and for Humphrey Moseley at the Princes Armes in St. Pauls church-Yard, 1647)

Includes dedicatory epistles by Ben Jonson, Robert Herrick and others.

Rebound in red morocco over boards; gilt stamped floral-patterened dentelles; binding signed “H. Wood.”

Engraved title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PR2420 1647


Casear, Julius.

The eight bookes of Caius Iulius Caesar : conteyning his martiall exployts in the realme of Gallia and the countries bordering vpon the same. Trans. Arthur Golding. (Imprinted at London : By Thomas Este …, 1590.)

The first English translation of Casear’s De Bello Gallico; one of Shakespeare’s likely sources.

Bound in marbled paper and calf over boards; spine gilt stamped.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (20 cm) DC62 .C2 1590


Chaucer, Geoffrey.

The workes of our antient and learned English poet Geffrey Chaucer, newly printed. (London: Printed by Adam Islip, at the charges of Bonham Norton, anno 1598.)

Printed woodcut illustrations; rebound in leather and suede over boards; ownership inscription of Robert White.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PR1850 1598


Donne, John.

Poems, &c. By John Donne, late Dean of St. Pauls. With elegies on the author’s death. To which is added divers copies under his own hand, never before printed. (In the Savoy: Printed by T.N. for Henry Herringman, at the sign of the anchor, in the lower-  walk of the New-Exchange., 1669.)

Rebound in red leather over boards; gilt stamped with floral patterns

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (18 cm) PR2245 A1669 1669


Holinshed, Raphael.

The chronicles of England, Scotland and Ireland. ([London, : s.n., 1587])

Bound in contemporary calf over boards; re-backed; blind tooled.

Engraved title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) DA130 .H73 1587


James I, King of England.

The workes of the most high and mightie prince, Iames: by the grace of God, king of Great Britaine, France and Ireland, defender of the faith, &c. (London; Printed by Robert Barker and Iohn Bill, printers to the Kings Most Excellent Maiestie, Anno 1616[-20]).

Rebound in brown morocco over boards; blind-tooled dentelles.

Engraved title page.

Includes James’ “Daemonologie,” a text on witchcraft and demonology.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) DA391 .A13 1616a


Jonson, Ben.

The workes of Beniamin Jonson. ([London] : Imprinted at London by Will Stansby, ano. D. 1616.) Third (?) State.

Ownership signature of D[avid?] Garrick, 9 March 1768, who received it from "… friend Palmer …"; bookplate of John Gribbel; minor manuscript annotations.

Engraved title page.

Includes dedicatory epistles by Francis Beaumont and others.

Rebound in vellum and marbled paper over boards; gilt-stamped; paneled spine; housed in red morocco pull-off box.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS  (Folio) PR2600 .C16 1616


Jonson, Ben.

The workes of Beniamin Jonson. (London : Printed by W. Stansby, and are to be sould by Rich Meighen, ano D. 1616.) First State.

Bound in contemporary calf over boards ; Ownership signature of Guiliollmi [sic] Knightly on rear endpaper; bookplate of Colonel and Mrs. Forbes Leith on front endpaper; obliterated ownership inscription on front endpaper; minor manuscript annotations; dealer’s description, [1] leaf, laid in; housed in red morocco and cloth slipcase.

Engraved title page.

Includes dedicatory epistles by Francis Beaumont and others.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PR2600 C16x 1616b


Langland, William.

The vision of Pierce Plowman : nowe the seconde time imprinted by Roberte Crowley … Whereunto are added certayne notes and cotations in the mergyne, geuynge light to the reader. And in the begynning is set a briefe summe of all the principall matters spoken of in the boke. And as the boke is deuided into twenty partes called passus: so is the summary diuided, for euery parte by a summarie, rehearsynge the matters spoken of in euerye parte, euen in suche order as they stande there. (Imprinted at London: By Roberte Crowley …, The yere of our Lord, 1550).

Provenance inscriptions of Sir Richard Drummond of Carnock (d. 1592) on rear endpaper.

Rebound in paper and leather over boards.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (20 cm) PR2010 .C7x 1550


Milton, John.

Paradise lost. A poem in twelve books. (London, Printed by Miles Flesher, for Richard Bently and Jacob Tonson, 1688).

4th edition; the first illustrated edition.

Bound in contemporary calf over boards; blind tooled.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PR3560 1688


Philips, Katherine.

Poems by the most deservedly admired Mrs. Katherine Philips the matchless Orinda : To which is added Monsieur Corneille’s Pompey & Horace, tragedies. With several other translations out of French. (London : printed by J. M. for H. Herringman, at the sign of the Blew Anchor in the lower walk of the New Exchange, 1667).

The first printed collection of poems by an English woman.

Bound in contemporary calf over boards. Engraved portrait of author. With label and ink stamp of the Lawrence Public Library; bookplate of Charles Bathurst, Sydney Park; ownership inscription dated 1671.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (28 cm) PR3619 .P4 1667


Shakespeare, William.

Mr. William Shakespeares comedies, histories, and tragedies published according to the true originall copies. (London: Printed by Tho. Cotes, for John Smethwick, and are to be sold at his shop in Saint Dunstans Church-yard, 1632.)

Rebound in red morocco over boards; gilt stamped on covers, spine and endpapers; binding signed “Riach”; housed in red morocco and blue marbled paper slipcase.

Engraved title-page (the Droeshout portrait); dedicatory epistles by Ben Jonson and others; anonymous dedicatory epistle by John Milton (his first published writing).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PR2751 .A2 1632


Sidney, Philip, Sir.

The countesse of Pembrokes Arcadia written by Sir Philip Sidney. Now the sixt time published, with some new additions. Also a supplement of a defect in the third part of this history, by Sir W. Alexander. (London: Printed by W.S. for Simon Waterson, 1627)

Bound in contemporary calf over boards; spine re-backed; blind-tooled along the margins.

Engraved title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PR2342 .A5x 1627


Spenser, Edmund.

The Faerie Queen : the shepheard’s calendar, together with the other works of England’s Arch-poët. (London: Printed by H. L. for Mathew Lownes, 1617).

Bound in calf over boards; spine re-backed; blind-tooled along the margins.

Engraved title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PR2352 .L68


Top of page


Science, Medicine and Technology

Bacon, Francis.

Sylva sylvarum, or, A naturall historie: in ten centuries. (London: Printed by J. Haviland for W. Lee, 1635)

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (28 cm) QH41 .B2 1635


Bate, John.

The mysteries of nature and art : in foure severall parts. ([London]: Printed [by T. Harper] for Ralph Mabb, 1635.)

With woodcut illustrations.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (18 cm) Q155 .B32 1635


Branca, Giovanni.

Le machine : volume nuouo et di molto artificio da fare effetti marauigliosi tanto spiritali quanto di animale operatione arichito di bellissime figure conle dichiarationi a ciascuna di esse in lingua uolgare et latina / del sig[no]r Giouanni Branca cittadino romano, ingegniero & architetto … (In Roma: Ad ista[n]za di Iacomo Martuci … per Iacomo Mascardi, 1629)

Rebound in calf and marbled paper over boards.

Printed wood-cut illustrations; engraved title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (24 cm) TJ144 B75 1629


Burton, Robert.

The anatomy of melancholy : what it is, with all the kinds, causes, symptomes, prognostickes & seuerall cures of it : in three partitions, with their severall sections, members & subsections, philosophically, medicinally, historically, opened & cut up. 7th ed. (London : Printed for H. Cripps and are to be sold at his shop in Popes-head Allie and by E. Wallis at the Horsshoo in the Old Baley, 1660).

Bound in contemporary calf over boards. Engraved title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PR2223 .A1 1660


Gesner, Konrad.

The practise of the new and old phisicke, wherein is contained the most excellent secrets of phisicke and philosophie, deuided into foure bookes. In the which are the best approued remedies for the diseases as well inward as outward, of al the parts of mans body: treating very amplie of al distillations of waters, of oyles, balmes, quintessences … Gathered out of the best & most approued authors, by that excellent Doctor Gesnerus. Also the pictures and manner to make the vessels, furnaces, and other instruments thereunto belonging. (London: Peter Short, 1599).

Rebound in calf over boards. With printed woodcuts.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (18 cm) R128.6 .G44 1599


Hodges, Nathaniel.

Loimologia, or, An historical account of the plague in London in 1605 : with precautionary directions against the like contagion / by Nath. Hodges … ; to which is added, an essay on the different causes of pestilential diseases, and how they become contagious ; with remarks on the infection now in France, and the most probable means to prevent its spreading here, by John Quincy. (London : Printed for E. Bell … , 1720).

Bound in contemporary calf over boards; blind tooled

Includes a fold-out table listing the English mortality rates for the year 1665 (deaths due to plague and all total deaths).

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (20 cm) RC178 .G7 L74


Hortus sanitatis.

[Ortus sanitatis : de herbis et plantis, de animalibus et reptilibus, de auibus et volatilibus, de piscibus et natatilibus, de lapidibus et in terre venis nascentibus, de vrinis et earum speciebus, tabula medicinalis cum directorio generali per omnes tractatus]. ([Strasbourg: Reinhard Beck, anno 1517].)

A work of pre-Linnaean zoology and botany; the book covers a mixture of scientific and mythic creatures.

Rebound in green cloth over boards; with printed woodcut illustrations.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) RS79 H67 1517


Plato.

Omnia divini Platonis opera. Trans. Marsilio Ficino. (Basileae : In Officina Frobeniana, 1546).

The first European translation of Plato.

Bound in calf over boards; stamped in blind and gilt.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (Folio) PA4280 .A5 F5 1546


Ruscelli, Girolamo.

The secrets of Alexis [pseud.]: containing many excellent remedies against divers diseases, wounds, and other accidents. With the manner to make distillations, parfumes … and meltings … (London: Printed by W. Stansby for R. Meighen and T. Jones …, 1615).

“Newly corr. and amended, and also somewhat more enl. in certaine places, which wanted in the former editions.”

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (22 cm) RS87 .R92 1615


Stow, John.

A svrvay of London : contayning the originall, antiquity, increase, moderne estate, and description of that citie. (London: Imprinted by Iohn Wolfe, Printer to the honorable citie of London, and are to be sold at his shop within the Popes head Alley in Lombard street, 1598)

Manuscript notes on p. [484]

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (20 cm) DA680 .S87 1598


W. M.

The queens closet opened : incomparable secrets in physick, chirurgery, preserving, and candying, & c., which were presented unto the queen by the most experienced persons of the times … (London: Printed by J.W. for N. Brooke, 1668).

Bound with : W.M. The compleat cook … (London : Printed by J. Winter for Nath. Brooke, 1668).

Bound in contemporary calf over boards, rebacked onto brown plastic. Engraved title page.

LOCATION: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS (18 cm) AG104 Q3 1668


Top of page



This page is maintained by Special Collections.
12/14/10

  • UD Library Special Collections  •   181 South College Avenue  •   Newark, DE 19717-5267  •   USA
    Phone: USA +1 302-831-2229  •   ©2014