American Literature to 1865
Special Collections at the University of Delaware Library has a very strong collection of American literature from the earliest imprints to contemporary writings. Most major American writers are represented, often by first or early editions. This selected list is presented chronologically by date of publication.
Wood, William, fl. 1629-1635.
Nevv Englands prospect. A true, lively, and experimentall description
of that part of America, commonly called Nevv England. Printed at London
by Tho. Cotes for Iohn Bellamie, 1635.
LOCATION: Special Collections F67 W88
Winthrop, John, 1588-1649.
A short story of the rise, reign, and ruine of the Antinomians, Familists
& libertines, that infected the churches of Nevv-England. London:
Printed for Ralph Smith, 1644.
LOCATION: Special Collections BR520 W7 1644
Johnson, Edward, 1599?-1672.
A history of New-England. From the English planting in the yeere 1628.
untill the yeere 1652. London: Printed for Nath. Brooke, 1654.
LOCATION: Special Collections F67 J66 1654
Mather, Increase, 1639-1723, supposed author.
A brief relation of the state of New England, from the beginning of that
plantation to this present year, 1689. London: Printed for Richard
Baldwine, 1689.
LOCATION: Special Collections F7 M433 1689
Bradstreet, Anne, 1612?-1672.
Several poems compiled with great variety of wit and learning by a
gentle-woman of New-England. [Boston : s.n.], 1758.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS711 A1 1758
Edwards, Jonathan, 1629-1712.
A preservative against Socinianism. Oxon : Printed at the Theater
for Henry Clements, 1693.
LOCATION: Special Collections BT1480 E35 1693
Franklin, Benjamin, 1706-1790.
Poor Richard, 1747: an almanack for the year of Christ, 1747, it being
the third after leap-year by Richard Saunders. Philadelphia: Printed
and sold by B. Franklin [1746].
LOCATION: Special Collections PS749 A2 1747
Franklin, Benjamin, 1706-1790.
Mémoires de la vie privée de Benjamin Franklin. Paris:
Chez Buisson, 1791.
LOCATION: Special Collections E302.6 F7 F1
Franklin, Benjamin, 1706-1790.
The works of Dr. Benjamin Franklin, in philosophy, politics, and morals:
containing, beside all the writings published in former collections, his
diplomatic correspondence, as minister of the United States, at the court
of Versailles; a variety of literary articles, and epistolary correspendence,
never before published: with memoirs and anecdotes of his life. Philadelphia:
W. Duane, 1808-18.
LOCATION: Special Collections E302 F825 1808
Wheatley, Phillis, 1753-1784.
Poems on various subjects, religious and moral; by Phillis Wheatley,
Negro servant to Mr. John Wheatley, of Boston, in New England. London:
Printed for A. Bell, bookseller, Aldgate; and sold by Messrs. Cox and
Berry, King-street, Boston, 1773.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS866 W557 1773
Freneau, Philip Morin, 1752-1832.
The poems of Philip Freneau: written chiefly during the late war.
Philadelphia: Francis Bailey, 1786.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS755 A1 1786
St. John de Crèvecoeur, J. Hector, 1735-1813.
Letters from an American farmer. Philadelphia: Carey, 1793.
LOCATION: Special Collections E163 C943 1793
Irving, Washington, 1783-1859.
Salmagundi, or, The whim-whams and opinions of Launcelot Longstaff,
esq., and others. New York: Longworth, 1807-08.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS2066 A1 1807a
Irving, Washington, 1783-1859.
A history of New York, from the beginning of the world to the end of
the Dutch dynasty by Diedrich Knickerbocker. New York: Published by
Inskeep & Bradford, New York, 1809.
LOCATION: Special Collections F122.1 I70x 1809
Irving, Washington, 1783-1859.
The sketch book of Geoffrey Crayon, Gent. New York: Printed by
C.S. Van Winkle, 1819.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS2066 A1 1819
Tyler, Royall, 1757-1826.
The Algerine captive. Hartford: Printed by P. B. Gleason, 1816.
LOCATION: Special Collections DT279 T98
Longstreet, Augustus Baldwin, 1790-1870.
Georgia scenes, characters, incidents, &c., in the first half century
of the republic by a native Georgian. Augusta: Printed at the S.R.
Sentinel Office, 1835.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS2299 L4 A6 1835
Emerson, Ralph Waldo, 1803-1882.
Nature. Boston: Munroe, 1836.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS1613 A1 1836
Emerson, Ralph Waldo, 1803-1882.
An address delivered before the senior class in Divinity College, Cambridge,
Sunday evening, 15 July, 1838. Boston: James Munroe and Company, 1838.
Special Collections BX9842 E55 1838
Emerson, Ralph Waldo, 1803-1882.
Poems. Boston: Munroe, 1847.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS1624 A1 1847
Poe, Edgar Allan, 1809-1849.
Tales of the grotesque and arabesque. Philadelphia: Lea and Blanchard,
1840.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS2612 A1 1840
Hawthorne, Nathaniel, 1804-1864.
The celestial rail-road. Boston: Wilder & Co., 1843.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS1872 C4 1843
Thorpe, Thomas Bangs, 1815-1878.
The mysteries of the backwoods. Illustrations by Felix O.C. Darley.
Philadelphia: Carey and Hart, 1846.
LOCATION: Special Collections F396 T52
Thorpe, Thomas Bangs, 1815-1878.
The hive of "The bee-hunter. New York: Appleton, 1854.
LOCATION: Special Collections F396 T5
Thoreau, Henry David, 1817-1862.
Walden, or, Life in the woods. Boston: Ticknor and Fields, 1854.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3048 A1 1854
Alcott, Louisa May, 1832-1888.
Flower fables. Boston: Briggs, 1855.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS1017 F6 1855
Alcott, Louisa May, 1832-1888.
Little women, or, Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy, illustrated by May Alcott.
Boston: Roberts, 1868.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS1017 L5 1868