VC PROCESS II
Selected Primary Resources
ART 201 Prof. Martha Carothers
The Library's printed holdings are cataloged in the Library of Congress Classification System, and may be searched in the Library's online catalog, DELCAT.
The following subject categories suggest useful research strategies for finding information similar titles in Special Collections.
Subject Access Terms:
- s=Artists books
- s=Paper -- Sample books.
- s=Private presses
- s=Type and typefounding
Alphabets and others. Notasulga, Ala. : Armstrong Press ; Fairhope, Ala. : Slow Loris Press, c1988.  leaves : chiefly ill. (chiefly col.) ; 19 x 45 cm. + 7 samples ( sheets (5 folded) : col. ill.)
Introduction signed: Ian L. Robertson and Walter B. Clement. Samples in pocket at rear are posters and notices using the various type fonts, borders, and decorative devices displayed in the text.
LOCATION: Special Collections folio+ Z250 .A662x 1988
Avant garde. New York : Avant-garde Media, 1968-
LOCATION: Special Collections Folio AP2 .A88
Bastien typographica. London 
LOCATION: Special Collections IN PROCESS
The Braunworth type book : showing monotype and linotype faces, special characters, accents, borders, ornaments and complicated type setting. Brooklyn, N.Y. : The Company, c1931.
LOCATION: Special Collections Z250 .B82x 1931
Theodori Bezae Vezelii poëmata varia. Syluae. Elegiae. Epitaphia. Epigramm. Icones. Emblemata. Cato Censorius. Abrahamus sacrificans. Canticum canticorum. Omnia ab ipso auctore in vnum nunc corpus collecta & recognita. Accessu Iac. Lectii V. Cl. Ionah. seu poetica paraphrasis ad eum vatem. [Geneva] : Excudebat Iacobus Stoer, 1599.
With: Bible. O.T. Psalms. Latin Selections. 1575. Psalmorum Dauidis aliquot metaphrasis Graeca, Ioannis Serrani ...
LOCATION: Special Collections BS1442 .S46 1575
Alphabetless book. [Newark, Del.] : Post Press, 1984.  leaves ; 14 x 15 cm. + 1 sheet.
Text is blind debossed in bound volume and printed on accompanying sheet. "Edition of twelve ... Original copy #8"--Colophon.
LOCATION: Special Collections Z232.P76 C36x 1984
There never was a good war or a bad peace. Newark, DE : Post Press, 1991.  p. : chiefly col. ill. ; 22 cm.
Printed on double leaves in the traditional oriental format.
LOCATION: Special Collections Z232 .P76 C34x 1991
Ode to a grand staircase (for four hands) / designed and printed by Julie Chen and Barbara Tetenbaum, with text by Erik Satie. Berkeley, Calif. : Flying Fish Press ; Portland, Ore. : Triangular Press, 2001. 1 v. (unpaged) : col. ill. ; 19 x 97 cm. folded to 19 x 17 cm.
Ode to a Grand Staircase (For Four Hands) is a visual dialog created by Julie Chen and Barbara Tetenbaum, who found their inspiration in the work of composer Erik Satie. Bound in a French-door sructure with printed paper covers. The right and left hand pages can be turned at varying rates, so each spread can be viewed as a whole as well as in an array of half-page combinations. Each page has a uniquely-shaped window cut through the center so a pattern made up of layered portions of each sheet is visible when the cover is opened.
LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4.C44 O34x 2001
Direction. Darien, Conn. : Direction, 1937-1945. 8 v. : ill. ; 28 cm.
Vol. 1, no. 3 (Feb. 1938) also called a "special issue" with the added title "American stuff" by workers of Federal Writers' Project with eight prints by Federal Art Project.
LOCATION: Special Collections Folio AP2 .D56
Eros. New York, N.Y. : Eros Magazine, 1962. 1 v. : ill. (some col.) ; 33 cm.
Vol. 1, no. 1 (spring 1962)-v. 1, no. 4 (winter 1962). Editor: 1962, R. Ginzburg.
LOCATION: Special Collections Folio HQ1 .E7
Deep in the territory. Newark, Vt. : Janus Press, 1998, c1999.  p. : col. ill. ; 21 x 23 cm.
Book includes thirteen paper collages in quilt-like designs. Issued in a fabric covered clamshell box measuring 23 x 25 cm., with a printed label on spine; remnants from collages contained in a plastic bag. "... binding structure & design by Claire Van Vliet executed by Audrey Holden ... boxes made by Mary Richardson and Judi Conant ... of one hundred and twenty copies this is 42"--Colophon.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3561.A8612 D44 1999
Circus turn / [designed and drawn in wire by Ronald King]. London : Circle Press, c1994. 6 folded sheets ( p.) : all ill. ; 20 cm.
Embossings on heavy paper, issued in a portfolio containing all text, with slipcase.
LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4.K48 C57 1994
Marbled papers / Susanne Kneisl, bookbinding by Margrit Boppart ; translated from German by Suzanne Felchlin. Zurich : [The authors,], 1989 (Zurich : Buchdruckerei H. Walser)  leaves : ill. ; 32 cm.
Some leaves contain mounted plates.
LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO Z271.3.M37 K64x 1989
Hard words. [Berkeley?] Gallery 16 & Peter Koch, Printer, 2000. 2 v. : ill. ; 51 cm.
At head of title: Logos project. [Vol. 1]: "Eight Iris prints from found photo-engravings, wood and lead types. Published in an edition of twenty portfolios. 6/20." [Vol. 2]: "Nine relief prints from found photo-engravings, wood and lead types. Printed in an edition of 20. 8/20."
LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO+ N7433.4.K66 H3x 2001
Was here. New York City : Granary Books, 2001.
"In an edition of 50: 10 copies hors commerce, 40 copies for sale. 4/50"--Colophon.
LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO N7433.4.M36 W38x 2001
The mechanical baby. [S.l.] : L. Morrison, c2000. 1 v., unpaged : ill. (some col.) ; 12 x 16 cm.
Accordion-folded with pop-up on each pair of leaves; in cream cloth boards with ribbon ties. "Out of an edition of 25 this is #6"--Colophon.
LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4.M68 M43x 2000
Paper maker. Wilmington, Del.
LOCATION: Special Collections DELAWARE TS1171 .P35
The Warren blue book : containing samples of each grade and weight of Warren's standard printing paper. Boston : The Firm, [192?].  leaves : ill., samples ; 12 x 20 cm.
Pacific Coast Distributors Zellerbach Paper Company.
LOCATION: Special Collections TS1220 .S4x 1920z
Inner room. Newark, DE : The Post Press, 1988.
Printed on double leaves. Each leaf is die cut to open as a pop- up. Text is printed in blind and debossed.
The text by Lynd Ward is quoted from an essay written in 1949, entitled "The Illustrator and the Book." This quote from Ward's essay is ... from the book "Graphic Forms, The Arts as Related to the Book."
LOCATION: Special Collections Z232.P76 W37x 1988
Manuscripts and Archival Collections
MSS 358 Archive of the Press of A. Colish, 1913-1990 (bulk dates 1930s -1950s); 5 linear ft. with oversize material.
American fine printer and publisher Abraham Colish (1882-1963) began his career in printing at age twelve in a small printing shop in Bridgeport, Connecticut. By 1907, in New York City, Colish opened his own composing office and specialized in advertising typography. After several moves to progressively larger offices in Manhattan, the Press of A. Colish relocated to a printing plant in Mount Vernon, New York, in 1956. The Press of A. Colish produced work for the Limited Editions Club, the Grolier Club, the Typophiles, Colophon, the Pforzheimer Library, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, publisher Henry Schuman, and others. In addition to business records, advertising, print jobs, and reference materials, the collection includes Colish's correspondence and design work with T.M. Cleland, Bruce Rogers, and Rockwell Kent. Abraham Colish's son Louis assumed management of the Press upon his father's death in 1963. In the late 1980s, the Press of A. Colish, also known as A. Colish, Inc., merged with Laurel Printing of Elmsford, New York.
MSS 312 John Anderson papers, 1949-1994 (bulk dates 1978-1994); 5 linear ft.
Typographer, book designer, and printer John Anderson (1915- ) was born in New Jersey and based in Philadelphia for much of his work. Anderson founded Pickering Press in 1946, reviving the imprint in Philadelphia in 1963 after a brief stint designing for Paul Wheeler's Northland Press in Flagstaff, Arizona. Several of Anderson's apprentices became successful printers themselves: Claire Van Vliet, proprietor of Janus Press; Neil Shaver, of the Yellow Barn Press; and Leonard Seastone of the Tideline Press. Anderson collaborated extensively with the wood engraver John De Pol. Anderson's papers include material related to his career as a printer, especially as proprietor of Pickering Press. The collection includes personal and business correspondence with clients, fellow printers, and print enthusiasts; books designed and printed by Anderson; sample books and type specimens; and broadsides, advertisements, bookplates, engraved printing blocks, and other ephemera. A number of Pickering imprints are cataloged separately in the printed holdings of Special Collections.
MSS 211 Lester Douglas collection, 1920-1960; 2 linear ft. (1,137 items).
Noted book designer and authority on typography, Lester Douglas (d. 1961) was Director of Art and Printing for the Chamber of Commerce of the United States for 25 years. He was responsible for design of that organization's publication, Nation's Business. Other work included designs for The Limited Editions Club. Douglas was a founding member of the History Publishers Foundation, and was active in The Typophiles, The American Institute of Graphic Arts, and the American Historical Society. The Douglas collection includes personal and professional correspondence related to these organizations as well as his work as a designer. Correspondents include Paul Bennett, Mergenthaler Linotype Co.; Herman Cohen, Chiswick Bookstore; F.E. Dayton, Conde Nast Press; and Mrs. Edna Rushmore, Golden Hind Press.
MSS 412 W. Russell Hood collection related to typography and graphic design, 1569 - 1970 (bulk dates 1950 - 1969), 1.3 linear ft. and oversize.
This collection is a working reference file of original and reproductive lettering and design from the sixteenth to the twentieth century, as well as articles and clippings on typography and design spanning the dates 1950-1969. The files were created by W. Russell Hood, a Philadelphia-based industrial designer.Top of page
Portuguese Political Posters
San Francisco Rock Posters, 1966-1971
World War I Liberty Loan PostersTop of page
Printing and the Book Arts
Contemporary Artists' Prints in Books, curated by Max Yela and Timothy D. Murray, October 1994 - February 1995.
Personal Visions: Artists' Books at the Millennium, curated by Iris R. Snyder, January 15, 2002 - June 9, 2002.