University of Delaware Library
Bookmark and Share

Artists Books in Special Collections

What are artists books?

Special Collections holds a significant collection of artists books, dating from the 1960s to the present. Many well-known book artists and publishers are represented as are a variety of styles and materials. All of the several thousand titles in Special Collections can be found by searching the on-line catalog DELCAT. Because artists books are housed in Special Collections, use the option to "Search by Library Collection" on the right side of the page and choose "Special Collections." In addition to author, title, and publisher it is often useful to search by subject:

Browse "Subject begins with":

artists books
toy and movable books
private presses--flying fish press
[or other press name]

It is also possible to search for more specific terms such as "altered books," "accordian," "miniature books," etc.




Special Collections has produced several relevant subject guides and exhibitions:

Letterpress and Bookbinding

Printing and the Bookarts

Personal Visions: an exhibition

The structures of contemporary artists books often reflect earlier binding styles. For a list older printed books with unusual structures, see Historic Book Structures.




Selected artists books in Special Collections

Many of these titles were chosen because of their unique structure or binding.


Michael Bartalos.

Laocoon & the double helix. [New York]: Purgatory Pie Press, 1984.

LOCATION: Special Collections Z239 .P8 B37x 1984


Carol June Barton.

Vision Shifts. United States: s.n., c1998.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4 .B37 V57x 1998


Carol June Barton.

Everyday Road Signs. [Rosendale, NY: Women's Studio Workshop] 1988.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO Z 239 .W6 B37x 1988


Carol June Barton.

Instructions for Assembly. Atlanta: Carol Barton and Nexus Press, 1993.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO N7433.4.B37 I57x 1993


Carol June Barton.

Tunnel Map. [Rosendale, N.Y.]: Women's Studio Workshop, 1988.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO N7433.4 .B38 1988


Mark Beard.

Utah Reader. New York : V. FitzGerald, 1986.

LOCATION: Special Collections [Safe] FOLIO+ N7433.4.B43 A4 1986


Mark Beard.

Manhattan Third Year Reader. New York, N.Y.: Vincent Fitz Gerald & Company, 1984.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO+ N 7433.4 .B43 M36x 1984


Breyten Breytenbach.

The Intimate Stranger. CA Ninja Press 2000

LOCATION: Special Collections In Process


Lewis Carroll.

Lewis Carroll's Jabberwocky. Berkeley, Calif.: Poole Press, 1986.

LOCATION: Special Collections [Minibooks Safe] PR 4611 .J33 1986


Julie Chen.

Leavings. Berkeley, Calif.: Flying Fish Press, 1997.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO + N7433.4 .C44 L43x 1997


Julie Chen.

Bon Bon Mots: a Fine Assortment of Books. Berkeley, Calif. : Flying Fish Press, 1998.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO + N7433.4 .C44 B66x 1998


Julie Chen.

River of Stars. Berkeley, CA: Flying Fish Press 1994

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4 .C44 R58x 1994


Yara Ferreira Cluver.

Peephole: Bound with Photographs. Bloomington, IN [Privately printed] 1995.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO + NB1272.c58x 1995


Maureen Cummins.

The Flag Project. High Falls, NY : [The Author/Artist], 2006.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO+ N7433.4 .C86F53x 2006b


Daniela Deeg.

The Book of Warnings. Rosendale, N.Y.: Women's Studio Workshop, c2001.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4.D44 B66x 2001


Isabelle Dervaux.

Isabelle Dervaux's Dress Eclectique. New York: Purgatory Pie Press, 1986.

LOCATION: Special Collections. Z 239 .P8 D47x 1986


Johanna Drucker.

Narratology: Historical Romance, Sweet Romance, Science Fiction, Romantic Suspense, Supernatural, Horror, Sensual Romance, Adventure, Thriller, Glitz. [New York]: J. Drucker, 1994.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO PS3554 .R68 N37x 1994


Dorothy Field.

Meditations at the Edge: Paper and Spirit. Santa Cruz, Calif.: Peter and Donna Thomas, 1996.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO + N7433.3 .F54 M43x 1996


Alisa J. Golden.

She is the Keeper. Berkeley, Calif.: Never Mind the Press, c2003.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4.G65 S537x 2003


Alisa J. Golden.

My house I Sweep Out. Berkeley, CA : Never Mind the Press, 1989.

LOCATION: Special Collections Folio N7433.4 .G65 A4 1989


Mimi Gross Grooms.

Some of these Daze; drawings by Mimi Gross ; writings by Charles Bernstein. New York City: Granary Books, 2005.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4 .G76 S66x 2005


Seamus Heaney, 1939-

Squarings: a sequence of forty-eight poems; with forty-eight drawings by Sol Lewitt. San Francisco: Arion Press, 2003.

LOCATION: Special Collections PR6058.E2 S69 2003 In Process


Saint Hildegard, 1098-1179.

Sanctae Hildegardis Circulus sapientiae = Circle of wisdom / Hildegard von Bingen ; songs performed by Anima ... Newark, Vt.: Janus Press, 2001.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO+ N7433.4.V365 S36x 2001


W. R. (Walter Ralph) Johnson, 1933-

Narcissus [designed by] C. Van Vliet. Newark, Vt.: Janus Press, 1990.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO PS3560 .O3865 N37 1990


Ann Kalmbach and Tatana Kellner.

Pistol/Pistil. Rosendale, NY: Women's Studio Workshop, 1994.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4 .K358 A4x 1997


Tana Kellner.

71125 Fifty Years of Silence: Eva Kellner's Story. Rosendale, N.Y.: Women's Studio Workshop, c1992.

LOCATION: Special Collections D805.C95 K44 1992 In Process

Ronald King.

Alphabeta Concertina. Circle Press, 1983.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4 K56 A4 1983


Susan Elizabeth King.

Treading the Maze. New York: Workshop Press, 1993.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO N7433.4 .K57 A4x 1993


Peter Rutledge Koch.

Nature Morte: a portfolio. Berkeley, CA: Peter Koch, 2005.

LOCATION: Special Collections In Process


Sarah Langworthy.

First Visit. [Lawrenceville, Ga.] : Coreopsis Books, 2001.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4.L365 F57x 2001


Angela Lorenz.

Lay Text. Bologna, Italy, 1993.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO + N7433.4 .L67 L39x 1993


Emily McVarish.

The Man Walking. E. McVarish, 1995.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO N7433.4 .M36 M36x 1995


Clifton Meador.

Book of Doom. Rhinebeck, NY: Ph. Zimmermann Multiples, c1984.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO N7433.4 .M43 B66x 1984


Susan Mills.

Ruderal Plants in Manhattan. Rosendale, NY: Women's Studio Workshop, 1995.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4 .M55 R83x 1995


Jeffrey W. Morin.

Body Dance: --or What the Dancer (Catharine Vaucher) Observed and the Printer (Jeffrey Morin) Later Mused. Stevens Point, Wis.: sailorBOYpress, 1998.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4 .M67 B63x 1998


Nance O'Banion.

Domestic Science. Flying Fish Press: 1990.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO + N 7433.4 .O23 A3x 1990


David Rattray.

Out of the Dark = En sortant des tenebres. New York: Grenfell Press, 1989.

LOCATION: Special Collections PS3568.A787 O97 1989


Sandra Rowe.

Snake. Rosendale, NY: Women's Studio Workshop, 1991.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4 .R68 S63x 1991


Maulana Jalal al-Din Rumi, 1207-1273.

On the Art of Painting / Jalaluddin Mohammad Rumi; interpreted by Zahra Partovi; etchings by Annette Senneby. New York : Vincent FitzGerald, 1989.

LOCATION: Special Collections FOLIO PK 6480 .E5 P37x 1989


Clarissa Sligh.

Reading Dick and Jane with Me. New York: Clarissa T. Sligh, 1989.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4 S54 R42 1989


Buzz Spector.

A Passage. New York: Granary Books, 1994.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4. S645 P37x 1994


Sandra Turley.

This Original Self. Rosedale, N.Y.: The Workshop, 2001.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4.T84 T4 2001 In Process


Ian Tyson.

Ghost. San Diego, Calif.: Brighton Press, c2005.

LOCATION: Special Collections PR6070.Y865 G46 2005 In Process


Mark Wagner.

Smoke in My Dreams. Delafield, WI: Bird Brain Press, 1998.

LOCATION: Special Collections N7433.4 .w324 S66x 1998


Patricia Wilson-Adams.

Speaking the Stone. Rosendale: Women's Studio Workshop, 2001.

LOCATION: Special Collections In Process


Top of page



This page is maintained by Special Collections.
01/25/10

  • UD Library Special Collections  •   181 South College Avenue  •   Newark, DE 19717-5267  •   USA
    Phone: USA +1 302-831-2229  •   ©2014