University of Delaware Library
Bookmark and Share

Architecture

Selected Primary Resources

for reference assistance email Special Collections

or contact:
Special Collections, University of Delaware Library
Newark, Delaware 19717-5267
(302) 831-2229




Manuscripts and Archival Resources

Historical manuscripts and archives include the papers, letters, diaries, photographs, account books, ledgers, and records of individuals, families, and organizations. Unpublished finding aids to manuscript and archival collections are available in Special Collections, and a growing number of these have been posted on the Library's server for access via the Internet.

http://www.lib.udel.edu/ud/spec/findaids/

In general, University of Delaware manuscript finding aids include biographical notes, scope and content notes, series outlines, series descriptions, and container lists. All complete finding aids, including container lists, are available in the repository. In addition to the unpublished finding aids and inventories, Special Collections maintains a database of literary and historical correspondence and manuscripts.

A selected listing of these sources is included below, along with their manuscript collection numbers. For assistance of any kind, please contact a Librarian in Special Collections.

Top of page



Manuscript and Archival Collections

MSS 356 Charles A. Rubicam architectural drawings , ca. 1855, 17 items

This collection contains seventeen architectural drawings made by nineteenth-century Philadelphia builder Charles A. Rubicam. Included are three, possibly four, separate residential projects, at least one of which was commissioned by William S. Wilson, Esq. between 1853-1855.

MSS 357 Edward William Martin architectural works , 1921-1961, 219 items

A partial list of drawings in this collection of Wilmington architect Edward Martin's papers includes DuPont High School; Colwyck Senior High School; H. Fletcher Brown Vocational High School; Brookside Junior High School; Castle Hills Elementary School; New Castle Junior High School; Sunny Hills School; Smyrna High School; Newark Senior High School; the Friends School in Wilmington; the widening of Ritter Lane in Newark; a country house for Albert B. Kelley of Randor, Pennsylvania; the DeVries Memorial Building in Lewes; additions to the Chester County Hospital, in Pennsylvania; as well as the State Board of Education Building, the Delaware State Legislature Building, and the Hall of Records in Dover. Martin (UD B.S. 1916) received architectural training at the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Liverpool. Notebooks and architectural sketches dating from 1921-1922 document Martin's continental study tours. Through the Depression-era Historic American Buildings Survey, Martin participated in surveying and preparing the layouts for several historic Delaware buildings in both Wilmington (Brandywine Academy, "Old Swedes" Holy Trinity Church) and New Castle (the Amstel House, Chancellor Kensey Johns House, Old Town Hall, and the Van Dyke House).

MSS 359 Collins & Autenrieth architectural works , 1852-1904, 422 items

The prominent Philadelphia architectural firm of Collins & Authenrieth designed buildings for both private individuals and civic institutions, and much of their work centered on the German immigrant community. The collection includes elevations, floorplans, perspectives, renderings, sections, details, blueprints, and several notebooks; the drawings are organized in four series: I. Competitions and exhibitions, II. Public structures, III. Private structures, IV. Journals and an indenture. Projects include the Academy of Music, Central Presbyterian Church, the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Co. Building, the Library Company of Philadelphia, and the Masonic Hall, as well as several private residences.

MSS 364 Charles Edward Rahn architectural drawings , 1892-1933, 128 items and six volumes

Charles Edward Rahn (fl. 1885-1933) was a Philadelphia architect whose work was primarily in the design of residential buildings. The collection includes floor plans, elevations, perspectives, details, diagrams and calculations, blueprints, vandyke prints, and journals (1915-1933). A number of perspectives of country cabins are unidentified projects set in the mountains; most of the designs are of row houses in West Philadelphia, or of large suburban homes. These houses were generally created in styles popular around the turn of the century, including elements of the Queen Anne, the stick style, Romanesque, and Jacobean revival. Rahn's journals contain the names of his clients and the projects with which they were associated, as well as other professional and personal contacts.

MSS 365 James C. Fernald architectural blueprints , c. 1906, 7 items

Projects by Philadelphia architect James Fernald in this collection are small-scale, such as designs for stores or residential row houses for individuals.

MSS 366 American-Moninger architectural drawings of greenhouses and conservatories , 1936-1958, 51 items

Based in Brooklyn, New York, the American-Moninger Greenhouse Manufacturing Corp. designed and manufactured greenhouses, solariums, show houses, workrooms, and conservatories for clients around the United States. The fifty-one drawings in this collection include perspectives, floor plans, elevations, cross sections, and details, all sketched in graphite. Most of the plans are for clients within the city of New York, or nearby in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Connecticut; several are from as far afield as Ohio, Texas, or Missouri.

Top of page



This page is maintained by Special Collections.
12/14/10

  • UD Library Special Collections  •   181 South College Avenue  •   Newark, DE 19717-5267  •   USA
    Phone: USA +1 302-831-2229  •   ©2014