AMERICAN LITERATURE, 1865-1945
Selected Primary Resources
ENGL 341-011 | Prof. Susan Goodman | English Department
Leaves of grass. Brooklyn, N.Y. : [s.n.], 1855.
Letter from Francis Wilson (former owner), sales receipt, and related material laid in have been transferred to the manuscript collection.
LOCATION: Special Collections folio PS 3201 1855
The book of heavenly death, by Walt Whitman; compiled from Leaves of grass by Horace Traubel. Portland, Me., Mosher, 1905.
"Fifty copies of this book have been printed on Japan vellum."
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3203 .T65
Poems from Leaves of grass, by Walt Whitman; the coloured illustrations by Margaret C. Cook. London, Dent; New York, Dutton, 1913.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3201 1913
American bard : the original preface to Leaves of grass / arranged in verse with woodcuts by William Everson ; foreword by James D. Hart. New York : Viking Press, 1982, c1981.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3201 1982
Betty Leicester's English Xmas; a new chapter of an old story, by Sarah Orne Jewett. Baltimore, Priv. print for the Bryn Mawr School, 1894.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS2132 .B4 1894
Women as world builders: studies in modern feminism. Chicago, Forbes, 1913.
Author’s inscribed presentation copy.
A.L.S. tipped in.
The feminist movement.--Charlotte Perkins Gilman.--Emmeline Pankhurst and Jane Addams.--Olive Schreiner and Isadora Duncan.--Beatrice Webb and Emma Goldman.--Margaret Dreier Robins.--Ellen Key.--Freewomen and Dora Marsden.
LOCATION: Special Collections Folio HQ1399 .D4
"What shall we do with our walls?" New York, Warren, Fuller & co., 1881.
Plates are wall paper designs by Samuel Colman and Louis Tiffany.
LOCATION: Special Collections NK 3395 .C6 1881
Flowers in a box : a poem from behind the wallpaper / by Amy Schmierbach. Rosendale, NY : Women's Studio Workshop, c1999.
"... written and produced ... through an Artist-in-Residence Grant sponsored by the Women’s Studio Workshop ..."
Consists of twelve wallpaper samples including the t.p. and colophon, with a poem printed on each of the ten text sheets. The samples are attached to the back of the portfolio by a grommet in the lower right hand corner. Mounted sample on portfolio cover.
"... printed in an edition of 50 utilizing silk screen and intaglio processes 33/50"--Colophon.
LOCATION: Special Collections N 7433.4 .S365 F56x 1999
The verge : a play in three acts / by Susan Glaspell. Boston : Small, Maynard, c1922.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3513 .L35 V4 1922
All God's chillun got wings, and Welded, by Eugene O'Neill. New York, Boni and Liveright [c1924]
LOCATION: Special Collections PS 3529 .N5 A67
Quicksand / by Nella Larsen. New York : A.A. Knopf, 1928.
From the library of Alice Dunbar-Nelson.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3523.A7225 Q5 1928
Mules and men / with an introduction by Franz Boas ; 10 illustrations by Miguel Covarrubias. Philadelphia : J.B. Lippincott Co., 1935.
LOCATION: Special Collections GR103 .H8 In Process 
The ballad of the brown girl : an old ballad retold / by Countee Cullen ; with illustrations and decorations by Charles Cullen. New York : Harper, 1927.
"Special edition of 500 copies issued by Opportunity journal of Negro life ... New York City, of which this is number 61"--Sheet tipped in onto prelim. p. .
From the library of Alice Dunbar-Nelson.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3505.U287 B3 1927
The lost zoo: (a rhyme for the young, but not too young), by Christopher Cat and Countee Cullen, with illustrations by Charles Sebree. New York, Harper [c1940]
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3505.U287 L67 1940
A long way from home, by Claude McKay. New York, L. Furman, inc., [c1937].
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3525.A24785 L6 1937 In Process
Harlem : Negro metropolis / by Claude McKay; illustrated with photographs. New York : Dutton, c1940.
Author’s autograph presentation copy, inscribed for Doris Stevens.
LOCATION: Special Collections F128.68.H3 M3x 1940
Cane / by Jean Toomer ; woodcuts by Martin Puryear ; afterword by Leon T. Litwack. San Francisco, [Calif.] : Arion Press, 2000.
"This edition ... is limited to 400 numbered copies for sale plus 26 lettered copies hors de commerce. Each copy is signed by the artist, Martin Puryear ... An extra suite of the prints (except for the three arcs) ... in an edition of 50 sets for sale plus 5 artist’s proofs and 5 publisher’s proofs ... in portfolio ... designed by Andrew Hoyem ... This is the fifty-ninth publication of the Arion Press. Copy 183"--Colophon.
LOCATION: Special Collections folio+ PS 3539 .O478 C36x 2000
A book of poems, Al que quiere! by William Carlos Williams. Boston, The Four Seas Company, 1917.
"Many of the poems in this book have appeared in magazines."
First edition. Wallace A3. 1000 copies printed.
Tan paper boards; author’s name misspelled on spine (Willams).
LOCATION: Special Collections PS 3545 .I544 B7
Kora in Hell: Improvisations. By William Carlos Williams. Boston, The Four Seas Company, 1920.
First edition. Wallace, A4a.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3545.I544 K6 1920
Kora in hell : improvisations / by William Carlos Williams ; introduction by Lawrence Kart ; with 21 prints by Mel Kendrick. San Francisco : Arion Press, 1998.
Publisher’s prospectus, laid in.
"Kora in hell is the fifty-sixth publication of the Arion Press ... The edition is limited to 300 numbered copies for sale and 26 lettered copies hors de commerce, all signed by the artist. Copy 20"--Colophon.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3545 .I544 K67x 1998
Pagany. Boston, Mass. : R. Johns, [1939-1932/1933].
"A native quarterly." Began with: Vol. 1, no. 1 (winter 1930).
LOCATION: Special Collections AP 2 .P343
Manuscripts and Archival Collections
In addition to finding aids, Special Collections maintains a database of literary and historical correspondence and manuscripts. For assistance of any kind, please contact a Librarian in Special Collections.
MSS 099 Miscellaneous Literary and Historical Manuscripts Collection
F277 and F661: Items related to Walt Whitman.
MSS 100 Manuscript and Archival Collections
MSS 100 Louis Henry and Marguerite Cohn - Ernest Hemingway Collection, 1918-1983 (bulk dates 1925-1965)
Boxes 1, 10, 14
This collection of books, periodicals, correspondence, manuscripts, ephemera and papers relating to Ernest Hemingway was gathered together by Captain Louis Henry Cohn (d. 1953), a bookseller who was Hemingway's first bibliographer.
MSS 110 Archive of Pagany, 1925 - 1970
Content: Correspondence, poetry, essays, periodicals, novels, stories, announcements, checks, clippings, lists, birth certificates, advertisements, and timetables.
Boxes 10, 14
From the first issue in the Spring of 1930, until the final issue in February of 1933, Pagany: a Native Quarterly , edited by Richard Johns, presented a remarkable sampling of the best American writing, especially in the realm of fiction. During those three years, Pagany's tables of contents contained the names of many prominent twentieth-century authors, including William Carlos Williams, Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein, Mary Butts, Kenneth Rexroth, Dudley Fitts, Hilda Doolittle, John Dos Passos, Charles Henri Ford, Conrad Aiken, e.e. cummings, and Louis Zukofsky.
MSS 113 Alice Dunbar Nelson papers, 1895-1942
Alice Ruth Moore was born in New Orleans, Louisiana. Her first book, Violets and Other Tales, a collection of stories, was published in 1895. In 1897, Moore moved to Brooklyn, to teach. Struck by her work, the poet Paul Laurence Dunbar corresponded with Moore, and in 1898, they married. They legally separated in 1902; Dunbar died in 1906. Following her separation from Dunbar, Alice Dunbar moved to Wilmington, Delaware. This collection comprises her literary, professional, and personal papers, including a comprehensive collection of manuscripts of her writing, including novels, stories, poetry, drama, and essays.
MSS 269 Ernest Hemingway Collection, 1938 - 2001
The Ernest Hemingway Collection consists of selected periodicals containing contributions by Ernest Hemingway or mention of Hemingway or his work; lobby cards, film posters, and other theatrical and film ephemera relating to the stage or screen versions of Hemingway's work; and other miscellaneous or ephemeral Hemingway materials relating to Hemingway.Top of page