Selected Primary Resources
ENGL 267-014: | Prof. Susan Goodman | English Department
Selected Reference Sources
Mémoires de la vie privée de Benjamin Franklin / écrits par lui-méme, et adressés a son fils; suivis d'un précis historique de sa vie politique, et de plusieurs pièces, relatives à ce père de la liberté. Paris, : Chez Buisson, 1791.
The first edition of Franklin's Autobiography. Quérard attributes the translation to Dr. Jacques Gibelin. The portion written by Franklin is only to the year 1731, and the remainder of his life is a translation from Wilmer’s Memoirs of Franklin, with considerable alterations. cf. P. L. Ford’s Franklin bibliography, 1889, p. 183-184.
See also Franklin and Friends
LOCATION: Special Collections E302.6 .F7 F1
The scarlet letter: a romance. Boston, Ticknor, Reed and Fields, 1850.
First appearance of Hawthorne’s Preface.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS1868 .A1 1850a
An address delivered in the court-house in Concord, Massachusetts, on 1st August, 1844 : on the anniversary of the emancipation of the negroes in the British West Indies / published by request. Boston : James Munroe and Co., 1844.
LOCATION: Special Collections E449 .E542
Essays: second series. Boston, James Munroe and comany, 1844.
First issue. Nos. 257 and 258 omitted in paging; half-title "New England reformers," between p.  and p.  left unpaged. Cf. Cooke. Bibl. of R. W. Emerson. In original cloth binding. Cf. BAL. Publisher’s advertisement: 2 p. (at end).
LOCATION: Special Collections PS1608 .A3 1844
Emerson & Thoreau : spirit & matter. [Sherman Oaks, Calif.] : Ninja Press, 2003.
Excerpts from two essays: Emerson’s Nature and Thoreau’s Ktaadn with a commentary by Elizabeth Hall Witherell.
Created to honor the 200th anniversary of the birth of Ralph Waldo Emerson on May 25, 1803. Designed, printed & bound by Carolee Campbell at Ninja Press. Ed. limited to 100 numbered copies.
"The text paper is vintage Charter Oak from Barcham Green’s Hayle Mill in England and the cover paper is a 100 percent raw flax sheet, handmade at the Papermaking Facility at the University of Iowa. The type is printed letterpress from hand-set Garamont with Erbar Initials for the display."--Colophon.
The binding is in the limp paper style with exposed sewing on the spine. Each book has a letterpress printed prospectus laid in.
LOCATION: Special Collections In Process
Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass, an American slave / written by himself. Boston : Pub. at the Anti-slavery office, 1845.
LOCATION: Special Collections E449 .D746
Frederick Douglass / ( American crisis biographies). Philadelphia : G.W. Jacobs, 1907, c1906.
From the library of Alice Dunbar-Nelson.
Ink stamps of Alice Dunbar.
Publisher’s advertisements: p.  at front.
LOCATION: Special Collections E449.D75 W37x 1907
Black-belt diamonds : gems from the speeches, addresses, and talks to students of Booker T. Washington / selected and arranged by Victoria Earle Matthews ; introduction by T. Thomas Fortune. New York : Fortune and Scott, 1898.
Ownership stamp of P.L. Dunbar.
Inscribed to Alice Dunbar by Dolores.
From the library of Alice Dunbar-Nelson.
LOCATION: Special Collections E185 .W314x 1898
Shadow and act. New York : Random House, c1964.
Annex copy from the library of Pauline A. Young. Dust jacket.
LOCATION: Library Annex Special Collections Use Only PS153.N5 E4 1964
Leaves of grass. Brooklyn, N.Y. : [s.n.], 1855.
Letter from Francis Wilson (former owner), sales receipt, and related material laid in have been transferred to the manuscript collection.
LOCATION: Special Collections folio PS 3201 1855
The book of heavenly death, by Walt Whitman; compiled from Leaves of grass by Horace Traubel. Portland, Me., Mosher, 1905.
"Fifty copies of this book have been printed on Japan vellum."
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3203 .T65
Selected poems, with a pref. by Padraic Colum. ( New Nations booklets ; no. 1) Dublin, New Nations Press, 1907.
Very scarce as most of the edition was destroyed. cf: Wells and Goldsmith, A concise bibliography of Walt Whitman, p. 68.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3203 .C65
American bard : the original preface to Leaves of grass / arranged in verse with woodcuts by William Everson ; foreword by James D. Hart. New York : Viking Press, 1982, c1981.
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3201 1982
Women as world builders: studies in modern feminism. Chicago, Forbes, 1913.
Author’s inscribed presentation copy.
A.L.S. tipped in.
The feminist movement.--Charlotte Perkins Gilman.--Emmeline Pankhurst and Jane Addams.--Olive Schreiner and Isadora Duncan.--Beatrice Webb and Emma Goldman.--Margaret Dreier Robins.--Ellen Key.--Freewomen and Dora Marsden.
LOCATION: Special Collections Folio HQ1399 .D4
Mules and men / with an introduction by Franz Boas ; 10 illustrations by Miguel Covarrubias. Philadelphia : J.B. Lippincott Co., 1935.
LOCATION: Special Collections GR103 .H8 In Process 
Their eyes were watching God: a novel / by Zora Neale Hurston. London, J.M. Dent & Sons Ltd., [1938, c1937].
LOCATION: Special Collections PS3515.U789 T5 In Process 
Manuscripts and Archival Collections
In addition to finding aids, Special Collections maintains a database of literary and historical correspondence and manuscripts. For assistance of any kind, please contact a Librarian in Special Collections.
MSS 100 Louis Henry and Marguerite Cohn - Ernest Hemingway Collection, 1918-1983 (bulk dates 1925-1965)
Boxes 1, 10, 14
This collection of books, periodicals, correspondence, manuscripts, ephemera and papers relating to Ernest Hemingway was gathered together by Captain Louis Henry Cohn (d. 1953), a bookseller who was Hemingway's first bibliographer.
MSS 103 John Malcolm Brinnin papers, 1930-1981
Poet and biographer Brinnin (1916-1999), who was also a critic, anthologist, and teacher, taught at Vassar, Boston University, the University of Connecticut, and Harvard. He was Director of the Young Men's and Young Women's Hebrew Association Poetry Center ("the 92nd Street Y") in New York City during one of the Center's most successful periods (1949-1956). He is renowned for bringing the poet Dylan Thomas to America, but because of his role at the Poetry Center, he corresponded with most of the major poets and literary figures of his time. Students in this class may be especially interested in the twenty years of correspondence with Elizabeth Bishop.
MSS 112 Tennessee Williams collection, 1939-1994
Born Thomas Lanier Williams on March 26, 1911, in Columbus, Mississippi, Tennessee Williams began his literary career at the age of 16 with the publication of his essay, "Can a Good Wife Be a Good Sport?" in Smart Set (May 1927). Nearly half of this extensive collection of correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, printed material, and ephemera comprises original manuscripts of plays, poems, essays, and other work written by Williams. Material related to A Streetcar Named Desire is available.
MSS 113 Alice Dunbar Nelson papers, 1895-1942
Alice Ruth Moore was born in New Orleans, Louisiana. Her first book, Violets and Other Tales, a collection of stories, was published in 1895. In 1897, Moore moved to Brooklyn, to teach. Struck by her work, the poet Paul Laurence Dunbar corresponded with Moore, and in 1898, they married. They legally separated in 1902; Dunbar died in 1906. Following her separation from Dunbar, Alice Dunbar moved to Wilmington, Delaware. This collection comprises her literary, professional, and personal papers, including a comprehensive collection of manuscripts of her writing, including novels, stories, poetry, drama, and essays.Top of page