University of Delaware Library
Bookmark and Share

Post-Boom & Contemporary Fiction

During the post-Boom years, Vargas Llosa continued to publish fiction. He maintained his worldwide reputation as an author who eloquently explores the history and culture of Latin America through literature and who creates alternate, artistic worlds through his novels. His post-Boom novels include a historical representation of conflict in 19th-century Brazil (La guerra del fin del mundo) and an exploration of Rafael Trujillo's brutal dictatorship in the Dominican Republic (La fiesta del Chivo).

A former assistant to the librarian of the Club Nacional de Perú, Vargas Llosa spends his much of his time conducting research and writing in libraries around the world. His great respect for libraries as a place for reading, researching, and writing is evident in his work, particularly in his vivid, well-developed historical novels.

In 2010, Mario Vargas Llosa was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. The Swedish Academy praised him as "a master of dialogue who has been searching for the elusive concept known as the total novel, and who believes in the power of fiction to improve the world."

  1. La fiesta del Chivo. Madrid: Alfaguara, 2000.
  2. ¿Quién mató a Palomino Molero? Barcelona: Seix Barral, 1986.
  3. Las travesuras de la niña mala. Madrid: Alfaguara, 2006.
  4. El sueño del celta. Doral, FL: Alfaguara, 2010.
  5. El hablador. Barcelona: Seix Barral, 1987.
  6. In Praise of Reading and Fiction: The Nobel Lecture, December 7, 2010. New York: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2011.
  7. La guerra del fin del mundo. Barcelona: Seix Barral, 1987.
  8. El héroe discreto. Doral, FL: Alfaguara, 2013.

This page is maintained by Special Collections.

  • UD Library Special Collections  •   181 South College Avenue  •   Newark, DE 19717-5267  •   USA
    Phone: USA +1 302-831-2229  •   ©2014